loading spinner
China

Classic Icons of China and Yangtze River Cruise

Program No. 15122RJ
Sail the Yangtze River alongside experts as you learn about and explore the icons of China, enjoying lectures, gaining insider knowledge and walking on the Great Wall.
Length
16 days
Rating (5)
Activity Level
Starts at
4,499

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Sep 2 - Sep 17, 2023
Starting at
4,499
Oct 7 - Oct 22, 2023
Starting at
4,499
Mar 30 - Apr 14, 2024
Starting at
4,499
May 4 - May 19, 2024
Starting at
4,499
Aug 31 - Sep 15, 2024
Starting at
4,499
Sep 14 - Sep 29, 2024
Starting at
4,499
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Sep 2 - Sep 17, 2023
Starting at
5,379
Oct 7 - Oct 22, 2023
Starting at
5,379
Mar 30 - Apr 14, 2024
Starting at
5,379
May 4 - May 19, 2024
Starting at
5,379
Aug 31 - Sep 15, 2024
Starting at
5,379
Sep 14 - Sep 29, 2024
Starting at
5,379

At a Glance

Gain a vivid overview of ancient and present-day China as you encounter its most significant icons. On the Yangtze, discover how the world’s third-longest river influenced China’s development for thousands of years. Uncover the differences between the South and North as you explore imperial Beijing, ancient Xi’an, cosmopolitan Shanghai, and sail beneath the mystical mountains of the Li River.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Walking up to three miles daily; uneven terrain, uneven stone stairs; steps without railings.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 13 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Voyage down the Yangtze River, visiting river towns along the way, and sail through its legendary gorges.
  • Walk the Great Wall, enter the Forbidden City, and lunch with a courtyard family in "Old Beijing."
  • Sail on the beautiful Li River as it winds through a sublime mountain landscape that has inspired centuries of Chinese painting and poetry.

General Notes

Optional tai ji and Chinese conversation classes.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Chinese Religions, Philosophy, and Character; Hongying Yang
Professor Yang Hongying is an expert in the study of foreign language and linguistics at Xi'an International Studies University, where she leads courses in Chinese culture and international studies. She has received numerous teaching awards, and also has received advanced degrees in cultural heritage studies from the Institute of European Studies in Macau, and in education from the University of New South Wales in Australia. Yang has published numerous papers on museum text translations and international culture studies, and has given lectures on Chinese culture and heritage in China, Macau, and Singapore. She has worked with and taught Road Scholar groups for more than 10 years.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Chinese Religions, Philosophy, and Character;   Hongying Yang
Chinese Religions, Philosophy, and Character; Hongying Yang View biography
Professor Yang Hongying is an expert in the study of foreign language and linguistics at Xi'an International Studies University, where she leads courses in Chinese culture and international studies. She has received numerous teaching awards, and also has received advanced degrees in cultural heritage studies from the Institute of European Studies in Macau, and in education from the University of New South Wales in Australia. Yang has published numerous papers on museum text translations and international culture studies, and has given lectures on Chinese culture and heritage in China, Macau, and Singapore. She has worked with and taught Road Scholar groups for more than 10 years.
Profile Image of Qing Zhao
Zhao Qing (‘Cindy’) grew up close to Mandarin-speaking Beijing and received her B.S. degree in biology and environmental protection from Hebei University. Cindy has studied, lived and worked in the U.S. and Canada and is fluent in English and Mandarin. A regular practitioner of tai ji and an avid cook, Cindy also enjoys being a global citizen -- currently dividing her time between Canada and China.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
China Reading and Film List
by Availability
An annotated reading and film list is an attachment near the end of the First Information Packet sent to participants three months before departure. To receive it earlier in a separate email, send your email request to Chinese American Educational Exchange: toc@ix.netcom.com. Be sure to include the program number in which you are enrolled and the departure date.
6 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 11/17/2019

On the whole, the trip was FANTASTIC. Shi Wentao was a WONDERFUL guide! As a former travel agent..I have a couple of comments.... In the preliminary trip booklet there was a list of free time activities in various cities, but this section wasn't included in the final trip booklet (which I brought with me). That was frustrating (not that we had much free time) ;) Most Importantly...The acrobatic show in Shanghai at the RITZ was very silly...WHY waste the only free night in such a fascinating city seeing such a show???? PLEASE include a night time boat ride on the Huangpu River! This is a MUST!!! We visited the Bund in the daytime, but there is no comparison to the night view. Our group arrived in Shanghai early so Wentao was able to arrange this boat ride for us.THANK GOODNESS!!!! Also, I wish we could have seen or ridden the Shanghai subway. Thank you, Cynthia Vos

(5) Review left 6/04/2019

This was our first Road Scholar journey and visit to China. The seasoned leadership, faultless management, grace, and humanity of National Guide Liu Hao (and the intern who assisted him, and several local colleagues) made this trip invaluable for perspective on China. Mr. Liu selected and spoke of places, events, and people to make them our own. We found ourselves talking about what we saw and looking at notes and handouts every night before falling asleep. Now, several weeks later, I recall in detail much of what he said and showed us: the lectures and demonstrations, the conversations that he mediated and translated, people that he pointed out on the street, the constant chore of keeping us together and on schedule - missing nothing - and his frequent humor. He was always ready for our questions, probing impressions when we sought to fill out our understanding. The same applied to our appetites - restaurants near our hotels or between locations that we visited, in walking range wherever practical. He spoke often of Chinese families, dynamics, and prerogatives. We came to see his family and community through his eyes. Anyone considering this program - I recommend it highly - most highly if you can schedule with Liu Hao as guide. The classic icons and spectacular river of the program title are realized. So as well are intensive and attentive food growing, art, performance, architecture. But so also is China and Chinese as they are now, and whatever they will become next - 1.3 billion comprised of 55 tribes sharing a huge expanse of country that sustains them. We were present at a time when U.S. and PRC were having words, military posturing, and tariff fights with one another. China shows strong economic ambition in various parts of the World. None of this seemed to affect Chinese in their everyday doings and regard for us. In some locales, Americans are well regarded for fighting the invaders of China during the 1940s, and as trading partners now.

(5) Review left 6/02/2019

The Classic Icons of China and Yangtze River Cruise expanded my knowledge of this fascinating country and was everything I hoped for and far, far, more. Judy O., Sunriver, OR

(5) Review left 5/30/2019

The trip "the Classic Icons of China" was one of the highlights of my travel life. Mr. Lui is excellent guide, coach, teacher, and problem solver and the organization of the trip was almost flawless.

(5) Review left 5/29/2019

This program was an extremely well run program. Make no mistake, you must be active and stable on your feet. Ask for Mr. Liu's program as he is excellent.

(5) Review left 5/15/2019

Fantastic trip! Everyone should visit China to see what the world's second largest economy and most populist country is all about. Wonderful people and impressive infrastructure.






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.