loading spinner
Africa

African Safari: A Close-up on Wildlife

Program No. 13938RJ
Take the adventure of a lifetime as you explore parks and reserves on a southern Africa safari, spotting some of the world’s most iconic animals and learning about conservation efforts.
Length
15 days
Rating (4.97)
Activity Level
Starts at
7,699
Flights start at
1,425

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
airfare
Need airfare?
Our airfare tool can help. Check it out
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Mar 24 - Apr 7, 2023
Starting at
7,699
Apr 21 - May 5, 2023
Starting at
7,699
May 14 - May 28, 2023
Starting at
7,699
Jun 15 - Jun 29, 2023
Starting at
7,899
Jul 16 - Jul 30, 2023
Starting at
7,899
Itinerary Note

For days 9-11, this departure will stay at Tsowa Safari Island in the Upper Zambezi River instead of Chobe Savanna Lodge on the Chobe Riverfront. Activities still focus on safaris, including a day trip into Chobe National Park, Botswana.

Aug 3 - Aug 17, 2023
Starting at
7,899
Sep 15 - Sep 29, 2023
Starting at
7,899
Sep 29 - Oct 13, 2023
Starting at
7,899
Oct 8 - Oct 22, 2023
Starting at
7,899
Oct 13 - Oct 27, 2023
Starting at
7,899
Nov 3 - Nov 17, 2023
Starting at
7,699
Jan 26 - Feb 9, 2024
Starting at
7,899
Feb 9 - Feb 23, 2024
Starting at
7,899
Mar 15 - Mar 29, 2024
Starting at
7,899
Apr 24 - May 8, 2024
Starting at
7,899
May 10 - May 24, 2024
Starting at
7,949
Jun 7 - Jun 21, 2024
Starting at
8,099
Jul 14 - Jul 28, 2024
Starting at
8,099
Jul 26 - Aug 9, 2024
Starting at
8,099
Aug 18 - Sep 1, 2024
Starting at
8,099
Sep 6 - Sep 20, 2024
Starting at
8,099
Sep 27 - Oct 11, 2024
Starting at
8,099
Oct 30 - Nov 13, 2024
Starting at
7,899
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Mar 24 - Apr 7, 2023
Starting at
8,299
Apr 21 - May 5, 2023
Starting at
8,299
May 14 - May 28, 2023
Starting at
8,299
Jun 15 - Jun 29, 2023
Starting at
8,499
Jul 16 - Jul 30, 2023
Starting at
8,499
Itinerary Note

For days 9-11, this departure will stay at Tsowa Safari Island in the Upper Zambezi River instead of Chobe Savanna Lodge on the Chobe Riverfront. Activities still focus on safaris, including a day trip into Chobe National Park, Botswana.

Aug 3 - Aug 17, 2023
Starting at
8,499
Sep 15 - Sep 29, 2023
Starting at
8,499
Sep 29 - Oct 13, 2023
Starting at
8,499
Oct 8 - Oct 22, 2023
Starting at
8,499
Oct 13 - Oct 27, 2023
Starting at
8,499
Nov 3 - Nov 17, 2023
Starting at
8,299
Jan 26 - Feb 9, 2024
Starting at
8,379
Feb 9 - Feb 23, 2024
Starting at
8,379
Mar 15 - Mar 29, 2024
Starting at
8,379
Apr 24 - May 8, 2024
Starting at
8,379
May 10 - May 24, 2024
Starting at
8,549
Jun 7 - Jun 21, 2024
Starting at
8,699
Jul 14 - Jul 28, 2024
Starting at
8,699
Jul 26 - Aug 9, 2024
Starting at
8,699
Aug 18 - Sep 1, 2024
Starting at
8,699
Sep 6 - Sep 20, 2024
Starting at
8,699
Sep 27 - Oct 11, 2024
Starting at
8,699
Oct 30 - Nov 13, 2024
Starting at
8,379

At a Glance

Elephant, lion, blue wildebeest, vervet monkeys — just a few of the thousands of species observable in the national parks and private reserves of sub-Saharan Africa. In South Africa, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Namibia and Zambia, encounter an unimaginable diversity of wildlife and meet the people who have dedicated their lives to its protection.

Extend Your Adventure

This program offers an optional program extension.

Extension: The Best of Cape Town

Gain a deeper understanding of South Africa as you explore Cape Town with experts, learning about apartheid, exploring historic sites and enjoying local wine and cuisine.
Activity Level
On Your Feet
Walking up to two miles at a time; some stairs and slick paths. Open-air safari vehicles require stamina, stability for long rides, getting in and out.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 13 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Explore wildlife along the wildlife-rich Chobe Riverfront.
  • Search for the majestic Presidential elephant herd in Hwange.
  • See Victoria Falls, discover nearby crafts markets and interact with local artisans.

General Notes

Please refer to the “Travel Information” section on the Road Scholar website or contact the provider if you plan on booking your own flights for correct arrival and departure dates. Following select departures, you can extend your program with "Extension: The Best of Cape Town (#13597)". Due to the nature of this program, listening devices are not available. The summer months of November-March are considered the green season in southern Africa; quick rain showers in the afternoon are common, and game viewing may be more difficult due to the lush vegetation and more plentiful water, which causes the wildlife to be more dispersed. Seasonal advantages this time of year: the vegetation is beautiful and green; the flowering plants are in bloom; many animals give birth at this time of year; and there are more bird species in the area due to migratory birds.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Honest Siyawareva
Growing up, Honest Siyawareva spent much of his life in close proximity to nature, thanks to his family’s passion. Fulfilling his family legacy — his father and uncle were both professional nature leaders — in 2014, Honest qualified as a professional nature leader in Zimbabwe, the only person to pass the extremely onerous examinations that year. Working for Wilderness Safaris in Zimbabwe, he has split his time between camps in Hwange National Park and Mana Pools National Park.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Lisa Reed
Lisa Reed was born in Zimbabwe, spent her school years in South Africa, and now lives in Botswana. She has worked or visited most Southern and East African safari destinations, and has managed safari camps on her own and with others since being in Botswana. Lisa has a natural affinity with adults and children, and enjoys passing on her years of experience and knowledge to the next generation. She has been leading safaris for Road Scholar for more than 15 years.
Profile Image of Keith Chisnall
Keith Chisnall View biography
A local of northern Zimbabwe, Keith Chisnall relishes in showing the bush culture to travelers from around the world. As a child, Keith learned the medicinal value of bush plants, how to track animals, tribal customs and the indigenous flora and fauna, and his knowledge has only grown since then. He’s worked as an engineer, salesman and detective, but his most meaningful work has been in leading educational adventures. After over 20 years of experience leading groups in “Big Five” territory, you can rely on Keith to explain every aspect and every detail of the wilderness!
Profile Image of Sisa Moyo
Sisa is Ndebele by tribe and grew up in Bulawayo and Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe. Zimbabwe’s beautiful wilderness and wildlife inspired him to begin leading overland trips. In 2011, Sisa served as an Ambassador for Zimbabwe at Walt Disney World, raising awareness about conservation issues. He currently lives in Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe with his wife and family. In his "office," covering thousands of miles in Southern Africa, Sisa shares his passion for the bush and his country with travelers from around the world.
Profile Image of Sam Mushandu
Sam Mushandu View biography
Sam was born in a small village in southeast Zimbabwe. Growing up in the village gave him an appreciation for nature, particularly during holidays when he would herd his family’s cattle in the bush. Sam attended Bulawayo Commercial College and is an award-winning safari educator. He has lead learning safaris throughout southern Africa, including top destinations like Hwange and Kafue National Parks. Sam lives with his wife and family in Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe and enjoys history and fishing. (Be prepared to hear some fishing stories!)
Profile Image of Honest Siyawareva
Honest Siyawareva View biography
Growing up, Honest Siyawareva spent much of his life in close proximity to nature, thanks to his family’s passion. Fulfilling his family legacy — his father and uncle were both professional nature leaders — in 2014, Honest qualified as a professional nature leader in Zimbabwe, the only person to pass the extremely onerous examinations that year. Working for Wilderness Safaris in Zimbabwe, he has split his time between camps in Hwange National Park and Mana Pools National Park.
Profile Image of Mark Geraghty
Mark Geraghty View biography
Mark Geraghty was born in Ndola, Northern Zambia where his father was stationed in the British Army. He grew up in Zambia, until his family moved to Harare, Zimbabwe. Not only has Mark traveled extensively throughout Southern Africa, but he has also spent time in Kenya and the Congo. His marriage into a prominent Zimbabwean family sparked an interest in Africa’s early history, specifically the “Scramble for Africa.” Mark is a passionate storyteller with a piercing insight and great sense of humor.
Profile Image of Victoria Falls Heritage Tours, David Livingstone Presentation
Victoria Falls Heritage Tours, David Livingstone Presentation View biography
A dynamic storyteller from Victoria Falls Heritage Tours will join your group to discuss David Livingstone's fascinating life and his explorations, which covered more than 28,000 miles of uncharted territory. Dr. Livingstone's unparalleled story is truly an inspiration and will offer new-found perspectives on the African continent.
Profile Image of Khule Ndlovu
Khule Ndlovu View biography
Mkhulekelwa Ndlovu — Khule for short — was born in Matebeleland, Zimbabwe, in 1971 and grew up in a small village as the youngest of nine children. After completing his primary and secondary education, he worked for a vet who took him to game farms where he met rangers and safari guides who inspired him. Khule qualified for Zimbabwe’s prestigious Professional Guide designation in 2001 and has never looked back. He currently resides in Victoria Falls with his family. Khule loves nature and guiding is his passion.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Adventuring in Southern Africa
by Allen Bechky
This comprehensive guide to game parks throughout Southern Africa includes an overview of the region, tips on watching wildlife and good descriptive information on each park or nature reserve.
The Scramble for Africa
by Thomas Pakenham
A well-written, meticulously researched history of the Victorian land grab in Africa. The book includes especially good portraits of the egomaniacal personalities who overran the continent.
Silent Thunder, In the Presence of Elephants
by Katy Payne
In this memoir, Katy Payne relates stories of research, discovery and conservation in Africa. An acoustic biologist, Payne has worked on communication among elephant populations at Amboseli National Park, Etosha and Sengwa.
Okavango, Africa’s Last Eden
by Franz Lanting
In this handsome volume, master wildlife photographer Franz Lanting captures the wildlife and habitats of the Okavango
Cry of the Kalahari
by Mark Owens, Delia Owens
A thoroughly readable version of Born Free, set in Botswana (and just as weepy about the animals). This is the book that got the Owens family thrown out of Botswana, in part because of their opposition to fencing the land.
The Ukimwi Road, From Kenya to Zimbabwe
by Dervla Murphy
An Irish grandmother and award-winning travel writer, Murphy journeys from Kenya to Zimbabwe, including a sojourn in Zambia.
Southern Africa Wildlife, A Visitor's Guide
by Mike Unwin
A popular, photographic guide to the mammals, birds, reptiles and habitats south of the Zambezi. With 300 color photographs and illuminating text.
Lonely Planet Botswana
by Lonely Planet
A comprehensive, practical guide in Lonely Planet’s hallmark style with 16 detailed maps and a separate chapter on Victoria Falls.
Bradt Guide to Zambia
by Chris McIntyre
A detailed overview of Zambia, its history, culture, attractions and natural history with color photos, maps and travel information.
The Safari Companion
by Richard Estes
An encyclopedic guide to the behavior of Africa’s mammals by a noted scientist.
North of South, An African Journey
by Shiva Naipaul
This is a great book – engaging and unafraid of controversy. It’s a sharp portrait of contemporary East Africa, as well as Zambia, sensitive to issues black, white and brown.
Exploration of Africa, From Cairo to the Cape
by Ann Hugon
This jewel of a book chronicles 19th century exploration of Africa with hundreds of contemporary paintings and prints, brief chapters on the expeditions and a very useful chronology.
The Myth of Wild Africa
by Jonathan Adams, Thomas McShane
A no-holds-barred attack on old-style conservation in Africa, provocative and dead-on. The authors explore the fallacy of an untouched continent where animals roam freely in sanctuaries.
The Eye of the Elephant
by Mark Owens, Delia Owens
Mark and Delia Owens, having set up camp in the Luangwa River Valley in northern Zambia among the elephants, are drawn into an ugly struggle with the local people.
Cape Town, A Lonely Planet City Guide
by John A. Murray
A practical guide to the city and surroundings, featuring suggested walks, excursions and attractions. This surprisingly complete book also includes color photographs and a map.
39 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.97 Average
(5) Review left 11/14/2022

Just returned from an extraordinary trip to Africa with Road Scholar- this company to care of every detail and made the trip worry free! The accommodations, the fellow participants, education, food- all of it was exceptional!! I’ve already started talking about another RS trip with some ladies on met on this one. It was just perfect!

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 10/31/2022

Outstanding! The program exceeded my expectations. We saw so much wildlife unclose and thriving in their natural habitat. The program offered a nice balance between game drives and other cultural activities. The best drives were early morning and late afternoon. We could have shortened/eliminated some of the long rides midday. I especially appreciated being among the local people and being introduced to local families, community members, and children. Unfortunately, the Apartheid Museum in Johannesburg was closed on the days RS had planned to take our group (it was probably too late to change our itinerary). Of course, we selected this trip because it focused on wildlife and we saw so many animals with rare observations of lions and baboons interacting, and a pack of African painted dogs. We particularly loved the elephants, giraffe, lions, and babies with their mothers of all species. There were far fewer insects (mosques, flies) than anticipated. We used bug repellant every day and I only got one mosquito bite the entire trip. Special commendations to our intrepid and spectacular leader/guide; Mark Geraghty, Joel (Honest Siyawareva?) and all the local guides. They went above and beyond to share their knowledge, expertise, passion, and wonderful sense of humor. Mark even followed up by sending everyone a photo record of the trip. The accommodations were top notch; specifically Khulu Bush Camp in Hwange National Park, Zimbabwe, Sousa Island Tent Camp, and the Riverclub in Zambia. Food was generally amazing, nutritious, and delicious. (I personally preferred to be able to serve myself so I wasn't given more food than I could finish, but I understand that various lodgings wanted to provide 5-star service.) Overall, it was the trip of a lifetime and I shall hold the sights and people in my heart forever! Thank you, Road Scholar!

(5) Review left 10/21/2022

This is, without a doubt, the most satisfying trip I have ever taken. I've seen a good bit of the world; but never with the continuous sense of wonder that Road Scholar and our wonderful guide, Sisa, provided. I would go again tomorrow!!

(5) Review left 10/18/2022

The Africa experience is a not-to-be-missed lifetime experience.

(5) Review left 10/17/2022

Our Road Scholar Safari and Victoria Falls experience was the fulfillment of a dream. It was the perfect blend of exposure to wild animals and their environment, of eye-opening and heart-warming cultural immersion and the broadening of one’s knowledge of the history of nations far off of our normal radar. Chris, our group leader, was peerless in his knowledge and skill as a shepherd and teacher who all of us felt fortunate to know. As travel became more accessible after the pandemic, my wife and I have been to Greece, Costa Rica and now this African Safari (and the Cape Town extension) within a year’s time. Each one was an indelible treasure, but this trip was the most impactful of all. As daunting as the expense and experience seems, it goes by in a flash of time and comfortable adventure, leaving a treasure of memories.

(5) Review left 9/28/2022

What a great wildlife adventure! I saw ALL of the Big Five and some were up close and personal! Over 400 Cape Buffalo crossed our path and stared us down while others continued to the watering hole! Lions and Rhino were unphased by our presence and photographs were taken at every turn. You couldn't ask for a more qualified program leader than Sisa Moyo! He made this trip captivating at every turn and met my every need! Great job, Road Scholar!

(5) Review left 8/08/2022

This was the most amazing, unique, and almost spiritual trip that I have ever taken in the 30 years I have traveled. Africa is beautiful. The service at all the camps and resorts was Michelin class! And most of all, our guide Sam was the most helpful, organized and knowledgeable that I have ever had. We all fell in love with our guide Sam and many tears were shed when he had to put us on our plane home! Don’t miss this trip if you love nature and wildlife!

(5) Review left 7/29/2022

I was truly stunned by the power and possibility of Africa. Our fabulous guide, Sam Mushandu, brought it all into a focus, that for me, is mind changing. a fabulouw experience.

(5) Review left 7/29/2022

The trip was an opportunity of a lifetime. The program leader/guide (Sam M) made the trip! His knowledge of the animals and the history of the countries was astounding! He was personable, funny, and went above and beyond for our group participants! 4 of the 5 accommodations were above 5 star and the food was amazing! The museums, lectures, and other information was a very pleasant addition to seeing all the animals and Victoria Falls. If you have any thought of going on an African Safari, Road Scholar is the definite way to go!!! Bucket List wish fulfilled!

(5) Review left 6/29/2022

We loved this trip - start to finish! Such a great opportunity to visit this amazing part of the world, and learn about the natural history, culture and geography of the region was outstanding. Accommodations, group leadership weather and wildlife did not dissapoint! Beautiful landscapes and wildlife to view across the whole trip. Particularly liked getting to learn about the regional cultures of Southern Africa.

(5) Review left 6/05/2022

This is a trip worth taking—superbly organized, lovely accommodations, delightful people everywhere we went, lots of cool animals to see, and all of it made particularly exceptional by our guide, Lisa. Her wealth of information about animals—and so much about Southern Africa!—were such a treat. If you go when winter is coming on (May, say), know that you will need more warm clothes than cool-weather ones. (And I, for one, never needed either sunscreen nor insect repellant, despite all the pre-trip info). And that I will, from now on, call them “sundowners” rather than “happy hours.” If “African safari” is on your bucket list, or whatever, this is a good one for you.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 6/04/2022

This was my third RS trip, but first ever to the African continent. What an adventure! From the smallest insects to the largest mammals, from iconic African landscapes to gracious and welcoming locals, it was wonderful to learn about and experience “up close and personal” the diversity and interconnectivity of this part of our planet, both in terms of human populations as well as the unique flora and fauna of southern Africa. I went with few pre conceived notions other than those gleaned from nature documentaries, films, zoos, etc. and returned with a host of unexpected and truly meaningful encounters that will forever bring a smile and shape how I see the world. Our camp accommodations were the perfect combination of style and comfort (great food and drink, of course) while keeping us immersed in the fantastic nature that surrounded us. Woven throughout and perhaps best of all, our group leader, Lisa, was nothing short of outstanding…..entertaining, beyond knowledgeable, and forever attentive to our every need. 5 gold stars to her, all of the camp staff and hosts, the guest presenters and Road Scholar’s local tour operator.

(5) Review left 6/01/2022

If you want to see wildlife, this program delivers!

(5) Review left 5/16/2022

A not to be missed adventure. Roads Scholar does a wonderful job in presenting Victoria Falls and the animals that everyone wants to experience.

(5) Review left 5/15/2022

I highly recommend this trip. It has a perfect mix of a variety of experiences. Our guide Mark was hugely responsible for our enjoyment of this trip. Meals included were appreciated so we didn't waste time looking for places to eat on our own. Loved not having much free time, I can do nothing at home, we went so we could see and do all that we could and we did a lot of both and loved it! Trip of a lifetime and then some!!

(5) Review left 5/09/2022

Absolutely fantastic!

(5) Review left 2/19/2022

This program was amazing we had the best time and all of the animals were amazing to see. We left our hearts in Africa we loved it so much.

(5) Review left 10/10/2021

This trip was the absolute best! We saw everything we hoped for as far as wildlife. This program is so much more than just animals. It covers culture, customs and understanding of each country and that country's role in Africa's history as well as today's world. I would say if you are interested in visiting Africa. just do it with this adventure. You will not regret it!!

(4) Review left 10/05/2021

The guide Mark was very well versed in the history and the animals of all the regions we visited. He handled all the PCR tests and visas that we all reguired several times since we crossed so many borders. In addition, Sam, a previous guide on another RS trip, was also a guide at one of the camps for 3 days. What a joy to have such great guides. The activities were all fun and exciting: petting and walking with ellies, horseback riding and swimming in the Zambeze. What a trip!!! Thank you Mark and Sam.

(5) Review left 9/25/2021

What a fabulous experience getting to know Southern Africa, specifically Zimbabwe, Zambia and Botswana. Of course seeing "the Big Five" (elephant, buffalo, rhinocerus, lion, leopard) plus many others was exciting. But equally valuable is the new appreciation I have for the amazing history and culture of this region with some the friendliest people I've ever met. Africa is so misrepresented in the western world! The bush camps were special -- luxurious accommodations with gourmet dining, while watching the wildlife a few steps away. Before you go, research how the time of year (wet season and dry season) makes a difference in the experience so your expectations are met.

(5) Review left 3/27/2020

This is was our 3rd Road Scholar international experience - it did NOT disappoint in any way. Although you always just scratch the travel surface, our small group experiences in these 4 African countries included amazing wildlife encounters and so, so much more. Excellent educational full-bodied! Five stars! It was a trip of a lifetime for us.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 3/16/2020

Excellent program, and Lisa is an exceptional guide. I wanted to see Victoria Falls, and we saw that and much, much more.

(5) Review left 12/11/2019

One of the best trips ever. The group size was perfect, the guide excellent, all the drivers at the camps were knowledgeable and made sure everyone saw the animals. Excellent group who were well-traveled and got along.

(5) Review left 12/09/2019

Super trip, led by best RS guide EVER Lisa Reed! White rhinos & hundreds - literally - of elephants. Beautiful serene bush camps, Thorn Tree & Imbabala. Two weeks were all too short.

(5) Review left 12/08/2019

What an amazing experience. Lisa, our leader, is a treasure. The drivers and guides added a lot to our program with all of their knowledge as well.

(5) Review left 11/19/2019

A combination of having an outstanding tour leader, Lisa Reed, having opportunities for over a dozen game drives (or other wildlife viewing experiences), getting to view Victoria Falls from both the Zambia and Zimbabwe sides, as well as comfortable accommodations made this Road Scholar African Safari: A Close-up on Wildlife a perfect way for me to check off "Safari and Victoria Falls" from my bucket list. Thank you Road Scholar and Lisa!

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 11/17/2019

We are still trying to figure out how we could experience so much for the price of this tour. Our guide, Sam, was over-the-top fantastic garnering all of our respect, all the while being thoughtful, kind, courteous, knowledgeable and funny with the entire group. The lodging was fabulous and meals wonderful. Close your eyes and picture a 20' outdoor table set with lovely tableware -- and in the evening tea lights -- the atmosphere just calling for friendly conversation. Game drives stopped along the way and in a matter of minutes a table and tablecloth were set up with drinks and snacks while we all relaxed and shared the pictures we had taken. On our safari rides were able to see many, many animals -- a leopard was seen by one guide when only the flick of its tail was in view. I'd call that good scouting for sure. This was our second Road Scholar trip but it won't be our last. We are already scouring the catalogs for our next adventure. Bill and Peggy Clutz

(5) Review left 11/16/2019

What a fantastic trip to be involved in. Our tour guide (Mark) was very educated in the lives of the people. Being in the mist of my people, (people of color) it was amazing for some to have not met an African-American from the United States. The respect I was given was amazing. As I understand, the women in the family is highly respected. It was amazing to be almost an icon in the present of my people. I was totally overwhelmed with the kindness, respect and attention given. I, being a person of color can appreciate this. Mark did a great job of preparing us for this trip and I appreciate his concerns for myself and anyone who had a concern. My tourist partners were great. I felt as is I knew them for a long time. All in all, the trip was great, and Mark and Chantell were the best Thank you Frances(Frannie)Pratt

(5) Review left 6/02/2019

I really enjoyed this program. We were able to see an incredible number of animals on the many game drives, the two river cruises, and from the rooms of the lodges where we stayed. I wish I had known to bring warmer clothes for the evening and early morning game drives. Thank goodness for the warm ponchos! The staff at the lodges were friendly and welcoming. The visit to the school and village was extremely well organized and informative. We have been on similar visits during other Road Scholar programs, and this was by far the best. It didn't seem like something "added on" as a cultural experience. It's a good idea to have some cash with you at all times because some of the places on the itinerary had small items for sale to help support their charitable work. Although there weren't many opportunities for walking, I think the "On Your Feet" classification is accurate. We were busily engaged for most of the days. If anything, I would have appreciated a bit more time between experiences to ponder what we had seen and learned.

(5) Review left 5/29/2019

I recommend this trip, for both its rewards and difficulties. The trip included abundant game drives as well as honest glimpses into life in Zimbabwe. I was glad to be spending money in a country that so needed it and even wished I'd brought more. Bring more cash than RS suggests. You may think, as I did, that you don't plan to shop much, but then you can't resist the delights. I would have preferred a more physically active tour; there wasn't much walking. Food was excellent in some locations and abysmal in others. The high level of service was astonishing. Along with others in the group, I found Keith to be the best guide we've encountered among our various travels. I was not happy with the inaccurate, overly general information provided before the tour. In May you need more than a fleece jacket to layer over a long-sleeved shirt and tee. For early morning and after-dark drives, you need gloves, a warm hat (not just a sun hat), and several more layers of warm clothing. Long underwear would have been a great help. It's true that you mustn't wear bright colors on game drives, but it would have been perfectly OK to wear subdued shades of blue. Due to an incident with misplaced bags, I urge Road Scholar to set things up so that we verify our bags when they're unloaded even though we also verified them when they were loaded for various transports. The absolute worst thing about this tour and others like it is the over-use of disposable plastic water bottles, contributing to the world plastic crisis. Even through we brought refillable bottles, clean water for the refills was not always available and we had to use the throw-aways. I urge RS to find solutions to this problem.

(5) Review left 5/19/2019

Probably the best Safari tour that can be had.

(5) Review left 5/19/2019

African Safari A Close-Up on Wildlife was the trip of a lifetime for my husband and I. It exceeded our expectations at every turn. Our guide, Honest, was absolutely wonderful. The country itself, the people we met, the animals we saw, the things we learned, the lodges we stayed at combined to leave us with memories we will forever treasure.

(5) Review left 5/08/2019

This is an outstanding program and exceeded our expectations. The guide, Honest, was outstanding - extremely knowledgeable, great sense of humor, good leader. A credit to Road Scholar. We felt safe at all times. The fellow travelers were wonderful and there was great group cohesion. Appreciated the small size - 10 participants. The safari lodges were terrific and the food was great at all of them. The educational programs, lectures and site visits were outstanding. The game drives were wonderful - we saw all of the Big Five and learned so much about the animals and birds. The staff at the lodges could not have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful. And such an unexpected pleasure to have free laundry services in the safari lodges. The safari vehicles were comfortable and we appreciated always getting to have an outside seat for good viewing. The late afternoon drives always included a break in a lovely area where beverages and snacks were plentiful, often served on a white clothed table! High teas at all the lodges were a treat. never had a problem with mosquitoes, dust, or what some participants in previous reviews complained about as very hard seats. We could not have been more pleased with this trip and are looking at another Road Scholar trip to Africa. There is so much to see and they are so well done.

(5) Review left 5/06/2019

I would highly recommend this tour. It was well designed, and executed. I have no complaints whatever. Go for it!

(5) Review left 5/05/2019

Exceptional guide! Game drives were thrilling. Varied lodgings were spectacular. Local experiences were humanistic and deeply informative. Programs that are helping both animals and people were inspiring. The itinerary gave a good balance to experiences and pacing - full but measured to allow a range replete with richness.

(5) Review left 5/04/2019

This program was all that we hoped for. It contained the right mix of cultural and wildlife experiences. We had an excellent tour guide and the lodges in which we stayed were perfect. It couldn't have been better!

(5) Review left 4/06/2019

The program exceeded our expectations. We did indeed see a lot of wildlife often and up close. I was able to get a lot of great pictures that I will be sharing with friends and putting up in our house.

(5) Review left 3/17/2019

Most awesome trip/experience ever! Mark was a fantastic leader. He was super knowledgeable and truly took care of everyone's needs. He went beyond to make sure we had the best experience, ever! The wide variety of activities and experiences gave a total picture of many aspects of southern Africa. I want to go back!

(5) Review left 3/01/2019

5 stars. What a wonderful experience. If you want to experience the beauty, diversity and history of this amazing continent, you should take this tour.






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.