loading spinner
Newfoundland and Labrador

The Best of Spectacular Newfoundland Coast to Coast

Program No. 13535RJ
Embark on a spectacular journey across Newfoundland and Labrador! Observe puffins and whales in their natural habitats, explore national parks, and experience Newfoundland hospitality.
Length
14 days
Rating (4.88)
Activity Level
Starts at
4,999

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Jun 9 - Jun 22, 2023
Starting at
4,999
Jun 23 - Jul 6, 2023
Starting at
5,049
Jul 7 - Jul 20, 2023
Starting at
5,049
Jul 14 - Jul 27, 2023
Starting at
5,049
Aug 11 - Aug 24, 2023
Starting at
5,049
Aug 18 - Aug 31, 2023
Starting at
4,999
Sep 1 - Sep 14, 2023
Starting at
4,999
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Jun 9 - Jun 22, 2023
Starting at
5,929
Jun 23 - Jul 6, 2023
Starting at
6,009
Jul 7 - Jul 20, 2023
Starting at
6,009
Jul 14 - Jul 27, 2023
Starting at
6,009
Aug 11 - Aug 24, 2023
Starting at
6,009
Aug 18 - Aug 31, 2023
Starting at
5,929
Sep 1 - Sep 14, 2023
Starting at
5,929

At a Glance

Immerse yourself in the charming character and rugged beauty of Newfoundland and Labrador. Jagged coastlines and picturesque peninsulas hold thousands of years of human settlement. Some of the world’s rarest land formations and most impressive marine life form an awe-inspiring backdrop for a spectacular adventure.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Walking up to two miles per day; some uneven terrain and stairs.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • See the world’s largest concentration of humpback whales and North America's largest colony of Atlantic Puffins.
  • Meet a local expert at L'Anse-aux-Meadows National Historic Site, a UNESCO World Heritage Site, for an in-depth presentation on the only authenticated Viking Settlement in North America.
  • Cross the Strait of Belle Isle to Labrador and explore the home of the first large-scale whale oil production in the world at Red Bay National Historic Site.

General Notes

Hotel's vary by date.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Bill Montevecchi
Bill Montevecchi is a professor of psychology, biology and ocean sciences at Memorial University of Newfoundland. His research is focused on marine birds, ocean ecology and conservation biology. Bill is the co-author of “Newfoundland Birds: Exploitation, Study and Conservation and created Seabirds – Oceanic Barometers for the Ideas Series of the CBC Radio.” Bill lectures nationally and internationally about avian ecology and conservation.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Bill Montevecchi
Bill Montevecchi View biography
Bill Montevecchi is a professor of psychology, biology and ocean sciences at Memorial University of Newfoundland. His research is focused on marine birds, ocean ecology and conservation biology. Bill is the co-author of “Newfoundland Birds: Exploitation, Study and Conservation and created Seabirds – Oceanic Barometers for the Ideas Series of the CBC Radio.” Bill lectures nationally and internationally about avian ecology and conservation.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Sweetland
by Michael Crummey
Facing the prospect of losing his land, the fierce, enigmatic Moses Sweetland recalls stories about his home, a village founded by his ancestors on a storm-battered island in Newfoundland.
Hungry Ocean, A Swordboat Captain's Journey
by Linda Greenlaw
A formidable skipper, Greenlaw details all the excitement, boredom, weather, and characters on a first-class fishing operation off the coast of Newfoundland.
The Iambics of Newfoundland, Notes From an Unknown Shore
by Robert Finch
With boundless curiosity and a deft way with words, Finch captures the people, places and wildlife of Atlantic Canada with grace and insight in this engaging series of essays, the result of his travels all over the Province.
Theatre of Fish, Travels Through Newfoundland and Labrador
by John Gimlette
A rollicking account of Gimlette's adventures in Newfoundland and Labrador on the trail of a great-great grandfather. It's a witty tale, soaked in fishy history, myth, lore and incident.
A Field Guide to North Atlantic Wildlife
by Noble S. Proctor, Patrick J. Lynch (Illustrator)
A comprehensive pocket guide to commonly encountered marine mammals, seabirds and other marine life of Northeastern North America, from North Carolina to Newfoundland and the Canadian Maritimes.
North Atlantic Whale Watch, Folding Guide
by Steven M. Lewers
A heavy duty, laminated guide to New England whales, sea birds, dolphins and seals.
This Marvellous Terrible Place, Images of Newfoundland and Labrador
by Yva Momatiuk, John Eastcott
This portrait of Newfoundland, compiled by two accomplished photojournalists, combines color photographs and oral histories of the area.
The Surgeon's Mate
by Patrick O'Brian
The seventh book in the Aubrey-Maturin series, with American privateers in hot pursuit across Newfoundland's Grand Banks.
Baltimore's Mansion
by Wayne Johnston
A memoir and history of the author's family in remote coastal Newfoundland, including his father's days as a codfish-taster.
The Day the World Came to Town, 9/11 In Gander, Newfoundland
by Jim Defede
When thirty-eight jetliners bound for the United States were forced to land in Gander, Newfoundland, on September 11, 2001, due to the closing of United States airspace, the citizens of this small community were called upon to come to the aid of more than six thousand displaced travelers.
Cod, A Biography of a Fish That Changed the World
by Mark Kurlansky
A sparkling extended essay on the cod, looking at the importance of the fish to cuisine and history, as well as to Scandinavian, American and Canadian commerce.
The Bird Artist
by Howard Norman
Memorably set in a remote coastal village in 1911, this vivid book is the tale of an odd local man who murdered the lighthouse keeper. It's as much about human character and motivation as it is about Newfoundland.
Whales, Dolphins and Porpoises
by Mark Carwardine
In the trademark, graphic Eyewitness style, this sturdy guidebook colorfully describes the world's cetaceans with numerous illustrations, range maps, fluke drawings and a few paragraphs on each species.
The Atlantic Coast, A Natural History
by Harry Thurston
Thurston illuminates the geology, plant and animal life and nature of the Atlantic coast from Newfoundland and Labrador through the Maritime Provinces and the Northeastern United States south to Cape Hatteras in this illustrated, engaging survey.
Vikings, The North Atlantic Saga
by William Fitzhugh (Editor), Elisabeth Ward (Editor)
An extensively illustrated volume of Viking culture, history and exploration that focuses especially on voyages to North America. Published in conjunction with a Smithsonian exhibit, it features essays and 400 color photographs.
8 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.88 Average
(5) Review left 9/16/2022

The group leader and driver were outstanding on this program. There were many unique experiences that contributed to a better understanding of the people, the geography, and the importance of this area. Truly a worthwhile experience.

(4) Review left 9/11/2022

went in late August and did not see moose or whales. Screeching ceremony with the locals was really fun.

(5) Review left 8/21/2022

There is so much to see and learn about Newfoundland & Labrador - history, geology, flora & fauna, etc. It's a part of the world that we generally don't know much about, but very significant things happened there that impacted our world. There are many stops and stays, so you need to be prepared for that, but I am glad to have seen and experienced so much! Saw lots of puffins, and even a distant glimpse of an unexpected iceberg at this time of year. Highly recommend for the variety of learning and experiences in this beautiful and friendly Canadian province!

(5) Review left 8/20/2022

The Best of Newfoundland and Labrador is a stellar program. The educational value of the program alone makes it worthwhile. As I participated in this program, a new world opened to me. I am forever changed by this positive experience.

(5) Review left 7/24/2022

We feel very lucky to have had Jean Knowles as our tour guide. She was extremely knowledgeable and vey accommodating. We learned a LOT. I can’t give high marks to RS’s tour time allocation. The tour members were able to socialize and get to know one another at our meal breaks but that was pretty much it. Road Scholar tried to cram too much into our day. The one day ferry trip to Labrador contributed very little and seemed to be included just so RS could say we had been there. Really no new experiences or knowledge gained for the effort. We would have rather gotten back to our motel many days by 4 PM and spent some time in the bar with other tour members. As we age seeing everything possible is no longer a priority. Just show us the good stuff and give us more free time. Bob & Jean Kaminski

(5) Review left 7/22/2022

Just finished The Best of Spectacular Newfoundland Coast to Coast trip and it truly was the BEST! Newfoundland is an amazing province and we learned so much about it's spectacular geology, wildlife, plants, fish and its people. This trip exceeded my expectations.

(5) Review left 7/22/2022

Spectcular Newfoundland and Labrador, Coast to Coast. July 2022. Exceeded my expectations. The places visited, most especially the days on the water were exceptional. Foremost, Our leader Jean and driver Con, MADE this trip so much more than traveling to a new area. Their personal insights and years of living in this area added knowledge, local lore, tales and humor not gained on one's own personal explorations of this very special area of Canada!

(5) Review left 6/24/2022

Just back from the Newfoundland-Labrador trip. Hats off to our group leader, Eleanor Dawson and our bus driver, Clarence, , for making a good trip a great trip!!!!






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.