loading spinner
13160
South Dakota

The Best of Mount Rushmore, the Black Hills and Badlands

Discover South Dakota’s beautiful Black Hills and Badlands, where bison mosey through roadside meadows and hand-carved mountains tower over vast stretches of untouched wilderness.
Rating (4.89)
Program No. 13160RJ
Length
7 days
Starts at
1,499
South Dakota

The Best of Mount Rushmore, the Black Hills and Badlands

Discover South Dakota’s beautiful Black Hills and Badlands, where bison mosey through roadside meadows and hand-carved mountains tower over vast stretches of untouched wilderness.
Length
7 days
Starts at
1,499
Program No. 13160 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
May 1 - May 7, 2022
Starting at
1,499
May 8 - May 14, 2022
Starting at
1,499
May 15 - May 21, 2022
Starting at
1,899
May 22 - May 28, 2022
Starting at
1,499
Jun 5 - Jun 11, 2022
Starting at
1,699
Jun 26 - Jul 2, 2022
Starting at
2,099
Jul 17 - Jul 23, 2022
Starting at
1,699
Jul 24 - Jul 30, 2022
Starting at
2,099
Jul 31 - Aug 6, 2022
Starting at
1,699
Aug 14 - Aug 20, 2022
Starting at
2,099
Aug 21 - Aug 27, 2022
Starting at
1,559
Aug 28 - Sep 3, 2022
Starting at
1,559
Sep 4 - Sep 10, 2022
Starting at
1,559
Sep 11 - Sep 17, 2022
Starting at
1,559
Sep 18 - Sep 24, 2022
Starting at
1,559
Sep 25 - Oct 1, 2022
Starting at
1,599
Itinerary Note

Max of 76 participants broken into smaller groups for activities and field trips. This date includes a Special Event: Custer State Park's Annual Buffalo Roundup.

Sep 27 - Oct 3, 2022
Starting at
1,849
Itinerary Note

Max of 76 participants broken into smaller groups for activities and field trips. This date includes a Special Event: Custer State Park's Annual Buffalo Roundup and lodging at the Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn in Rapid City.

DATES & starting prices
PRICES
May 1 - May 7, 2022
Starting at
1,979
May 8 - May 14, 2022
Starting at
1,979
May 15 - May 21, 2022
Starting at
2,379
May 22 - May 28, 2022
Starting at
1,979
Jun 5 - Jun 11, 2022
Starting at
2,279
Jun 26 - Jul 2, 2022
Starting at
2,679
Jul 17 - Jul 23, 2022
Starting at
2,279
Jul 24 - Jul 30, 2022
Starting at
2,679
Jul 31 - Aug 6, 2022
Starting at
2,279
Aug 14 - Aug 20, 2022
Starting at
2,679
Aug 21 - Aug 27, 2022
Starting at
2,039
Aug 28 - Sep 3, 2022
Starting at
2,039
Sep 4 - Sep 10, 2022
Starting at
2,039
Sep 11 - Sep 17, 2022
Starting at
2,039
Sep 18 - Sep 24, 2022
Starting at
2,039
Sep 25 - Oct 1, 2022
Starting at
2,079
Itinerary Note

Max of 76 participants broken into smaller groups for activities and field trips. This date includes a Special Event: Custer State Park's Annual Buffalo Roundup.

Sep 27 - Oct 3, 2022
Starting at
2,379
Itinerary Note

Max of 76 participants broken into smaller groups for activities and field trips. This date includes a Special Event: Custer State Park's Annual Buffalo Roundup and lodging at the Rushmore Plaza Holiday Inn in Rapid City.

At a Glance

The land now shadowed by Mount Rushmore was, up until the 1870s, called the "last great unknown." Enrich your understanding of American growth in this vast wilderness as you immerse yourself in the discovery of Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Badlands National Park and The Mammoth Site. Study the lives of gold seekers and sod busters, and discover the Old West before a handful of presidents made it famous.
Activity Level
On Your Feet
Walking up to one mile on varied terrain; some stairs. Elevations range from 4,300 to 5,200 feet.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Expand your mind with interpretive field trips to Mount Rushmore National Memorial, the Crazy Horse Memorial and Custer State Park.
  • Experience the otherworldly moon-like landscape of spectacular Badlands National Park.
  • Discover an active paleontological dig site, which boasts the largest concentration of mammoth remains in the world!

General Notes

Select dates are designated for small groups and are limited to 24 participants or less. For a more active outdoor program in the Black Hills, see program #12774.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
John Esposti
Born and raised in central New Jersey, John Esposti made the decision at five years of age to go out west and meet his destiny. At 18, he enrolled at the University of Idaho and received a degree in education. He then moved to Valdez, Alaska to teach woodworking, drafting and electronics. After four years of working and experiencing all sorts of adventures in a wild and amazing land, he climbed onto a sailboat and sailed off into the sunset bound for Hawaii, and later attended the University of Hawaii. After marrying his wife, Cindy, John returned to the Black Hills to operate a family-run business named Rushmore Cave. After selling the cave business in 2008, John worked for three years at the renowned Black Hills Institute of Geological Research in Hill City, S.D. Today, he and Cindy are starting a new venture called GeoFunTrek, with a goal to provide stimulating visitor experiences in the form of day-long educational explorations in the Black Hills.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of John Esposti
John Esposti View biography
Born and raised in central New Jersey, John Esposti made the decision at five years of age to go out west and meet his destiny. At 18, he enrolled at the University of Idaho and received a degree in education. He then moved to Valdez, Alaska to teach woodworking, drafting and electronics. After four years of working and experiencing all sorts of adventures in a wild and amazing land, he climbed onto a sailboat and sailed off into the sunset bound for Hawaii, and later attended the University of Hawaii. After marrying his wife, Cindy, John returned to the Black Hills to operate a family-run business named Rushmore Cave. After selling the cave business in 2008, John worked for three years at the renowned Black Hills Institute of Geological Research in Hill City, S.D. Today, he and Cindy are starting a new venture called GeoFunTrek, with a goal to provide stimulating visitor experiences in the form of day-long educational explorations in the Black Hills.
Profile Image of Stephen Yellowhawk
Stephen Yellowhawk View biography
Stephen Yellowhawk was born on the Cheyenne River Sioux Reservation. He was first inspired to dance by his uncle, Jim Yellowhawk, and has been sharing his talents for traditional dance since he was 14 years old. He is actively pursuing a master’s degree in leadership and management in becoming a leader in Indian education. He is currently employed at the Okiciyapi Wellness Center as a health technician to Native American diabetic patients and serves as the board president for the Black Hills Powwow Association.
Profile Image of Paul Horsted
Paul Horsted View biography
Paul Horsted has been photographing South Dakota’s people and places for more than 30 years. Early in his career, he was a staff photographer at the Sioux Falls Argus Leader, and later served as chief photographer at the South Dakota Department of Tourism. Now living in Custer, Paul has been an independent freelance photographer for the past two decades. His work has appeared in publications such as LIFE magazine, Reader's Digest, and Smithsonian, and he's a frequent contributor to South Dakota Magazine. Paul is co-author of the award-winning book, “Exploring With Custer: The 1874 Black Hills Expedition,” and of the more recent book, “The Black Hills Yesterday & Today.” In 2009, Paul and his research partners released a companion volume about the 1874 Custer Expedition's travels to and from the Black Hills, entitled, “Crossing the Plains With Custer.”
Profile Image of Donna Fisher
Donna Fisher View biography
Donna loves the Mountain West. Roping dairy calves and riding sawhorses, she pretended to be a cowgirl as she grew up on a Minnesota farm. She fell in love with the Black Hills on her honeymoon, she says. Donna spent 13 years in school libraries and 12 years as a classroom teacher of English and journalism. She was named both South Dakota English Teacher of the Year and South Dakota Librarian of the Year during her career. Her love for regional writers led to editing the first South Dakota Literary Map and web site plus a trunk full of other projects including a summer as a National Endowment for the Humanities Fellow. Now retired, she serves on the interpretation and continuity team at the Journey Museum, and helps to lead the membership and marketing committee. In 2007, she was chief researcher and co-director of an exhibit on Black Hills pioneer artist Grace French. Donna looks forward to sharing her love for the Black Hills with Road Scholar lifelong learners!
Profile Image of Jon Nelson
Jon Nelson View biography
Jon Nelson has been researching the pre-settlement period of the Black Hills region for more than a decade. He’s the co-author of “Crossing the Plains with Custer,” which follows the route of the Custer Expedition as it traveled from Fort Lincoln near Bismark, N.D., some 300 miles to the Blacks Hills. John lives in Rapid City, S.D.
Profile Image of Bill Keck
Bill Keck is a retired extension educator serving 33 years with Pennsylvania State, Colorado State and South Dakota State Universities. He is a very active volunteer in the Rapid City community, dedicating his time to the Chamber of Commerce, Urban Wildlife and Forestry Board, Rapid City schools, Cosmopolitan service club and his local church. Bill has run a Master Gardener program for many years and has been a regular speaker on local radio programs. Bill is married with three grown children and five grandchildren.
Profile Image of Jean-Claire Hamblin
Jean-Claire Hamblin View biography
Somewhat after the Paleozoic Era when the Black Hills were being formed, in a town north of the Black Hills racetrack, a baby girl was born. Not wanting her to have a simple name others could easily forget, her parents named her Jean-Claire, after a friend. Jean-Claire graduated from Belle Fourche High School, then went on to earn degrees in social work, psychology and sociology from the University of South Dakota, with stops at the University of San Francisco, San Diego State University and Augustana College. She raised four fine children and is grandma to six grandchildren. After retiring as the Community School Coordinator at the only community school in South Dakota, time now allows for tennis, volleyball, a book club, church choir and, occasionally, travels.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Roadside History of South Dakota
by Linda Hasselstrom
Reading Roadside History of South Dakota is like having a knowledgeable friend explain the most fascinating and pertinent tidbits of the state's past without reciting a lot of boring details. The book's comfortable, conversational style guides readers smoothly along the state's highways and byways. Even those who think they already know South Dakota can anticipate to learn new things from this insightful, informative, yet thoroughly readable and entertaining roadside history. The material is rich, and Linda Hasselstrom reveals it in an exciting way by focusing on the people who made South Dakota what it is today.
Moon of Popping Trees
by Rex Alan Smith
The Massacre at Wounded Knee was the last major battle between whites and Native Americans.With parallels to concerns some have of today’s news reports, you’ll see that this massacre was largely a result of overblown news reports of the danger of the Native American Ghost Dance. Even more startling is the revelation in this book that the Ghost Dance had its origin in the Christian resurrection story. This book spans fifty years of the life and struggles of Native Americans as they try to maintain their lifestyle in the face of America’s westward expansion.
Exploring with Custer: The 1874 Black Hills Expedition
by Ernest Grafe & Paul Horsted
General George Armstrong Custer's Journey to the Black Hills in 1874 was better documented than any other military expedition of the Old West. Not only did William H. Illingworth record superb views of the landscape and several camps, but at least fifteen men wrote diaries, reports or newspaper dispatches brimming with vivid detail. This book blends the Illingworth photos and their present-day counterparts with selections from all known accounts to paint a unique portrait of everyday life along the trail. Please order through Paul Horsted at www.dakotaphoto.com or 1.800.248.2194
The Carving of Mount Rushmore
by Rex Alan Smith
This entertaining and very readable book tells the fascinating stories of the people of Mt. Rushmore. Included are first person accounts of not only the carvers, the politicians and Borglum, but an almost unbelievable host of others who became part of the tumult and triumph that make this history read like a novel. If you’re only going to read one book about Rushmore, this is the one.
Cowboy Life: The Letters of George Philip
by George Philip and Cathie Draine
As a young man, George Philip emigrated from Scotland to escape a harsh apprenticeship. In 1899, he arrived on the doorstep of his uncle, James (“Scotty”) Philip, patriarch of one of South Dakota’s foremost ranching families. For the next four years, Philip rode as a cowboy for his uncle’s L-7 cattle outfit during the heyday of the last open range. But the cowboy era was a brief one, and in 1903 Philip turned in his string of horses and hung up his saddle to enter law school in Michigan. With a law degree in hand, he returned to South Dakota to practice in the wide-open western towns of Fort Pierre, Philip, and Rapid City. In these candid letters, Philip tells his children that his life was an ordinary one, but his memoirs quickly dispel that notion. He provides fascinating insights into the development of the West and of South Dakota. His writing details the cowboy’s day-to-day work, from branding and roping to navigating across the plains by stars and buttes as the great open ranges slowly closed up. The places and characters of the range find life in Philip’s mixture of humor, hard-nosed “horse-sense," and poignant reflection.
19 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.89 Average
(5)

Relatively easy to use.

(5)

Well designed exploration of western South Dakota, its museums, towns, history, parks, and people with excellent leadership by Penny Island a lifelong local resident with teaching background. Everything from gold mines, bison, Badlands, national memorial Rushmore included with several extra special places shared with a cohesive friendly group

(5)

The excellence of the speakers, the quality of most of the field trip sites and the knowledge of the group leader all combined to make this a worthwhile program. The lodge were we stayed was in a beautiful location. The beauty and history of South Dakota are fascinating.

(5)

Excellent trip, and jam-packed with varied activities which included Mt Rushmore (day and again in evening for lighting/event), the Badlands, several towns in the Black Hills, Crazy Horse Memorial, Custer State Park (saw bison and several other animals), the woolly mammoths site/museum, the Minuteman Missile site/museum. We had the option to attend several interesting lectures in the evenings, and the lodge was beautifully situated, with deer roaming the grounds, and a fire pit for evenings. Penny, the program leader, was topnotch and added immeasurably to the quality of the experience. Highly recommend this adventure; learned a ton and the group was great.

(5)

This was one of our most enriching and inspiring trips ever! Who knew the Black Hills of South Dakota contained so many wonders--and with the expert guidance of Road Scholar, we were able to explore a treasure trove of them. This trip will reinvigorate your love for the richness of our beloved America!

(5)

If you are interested in learning more about different countries with like minded people, then Road Scholar is for you. My husband and I have participated in 5 programs, in the USA and abroad. We look forward to many more.

(5)

As a single traveler it was so fun to be with this group. It's much nicer to be with others when you share a great experience or see something wonderful. And, it's safer than traveling alone. I'm hooked on Road Scholar.

(5)

I chose the mount Rushmore, Badlands tour because seeing Mount Rushmore was on my bucket list. I was very surprised that there were so many beautiful and interesting things to see and learn about on the trip that Mount Rushmore actually became the least interesting. Strongly recommend this trip and looking forward to many more Roadscholar adventures. This was my first Roadscholar adventure, but it won't be my last.

(5)

Great program,Exceded expectations.Rushmore &Bison were on "Bucket List",

(5)

I will do more of these programs, they were terrific!! Thank you for an outstanding experience, one I will never forget!

(4)

September was a perfect time to go since it was comfortably warm and not too hot. Overall, it was a wonderful experience.

(5)

Our guide, Michael, was native to the area. He shared fantastic insights about life in the Black Hills.

(5)

I have just returned from a wonderful trip to South Dakota. I went primarily for Mt Rushmore but learned there is so much more to love about the Black Hills. I began the trip barely knowing where South Dakota was and now I can say it is a place I love.

(5)

GREAT TRIP LEARNED A LOT ABOUT MT. RUSHMORE

(4)

Just returned from the Best of Mount Rushmore, the Black Hills and the Badlands. What a wonderful trip! Not only the above sites but the other stops made me fall in love with this area of South Dakota. Our guide and all the other folks we met were lovely.

(5)

This Program of Mount Rushmore, the Black Hills and Badlands was one of the most comprehensive and diversified programs we have ever attended. I can't begin to tell you how interesting it all was -- things I never dreamed I would be interested in fascinated me and opened new doors in so many areas. I'm sure much of this was due to the energetic and dedicated program speakers who were able to explain so many varied subjects to us in layman's terms. This was not just monuments . . . it was about beautifully curated museums, interesting towns, the Mammoth Site, the Homestake Mine and the neutrino studies that are being done there, the Badlands, Crazy Horse,Custer's Army, what it's like to run a ranch, and so much more! Don't miss this one!

(5)

What an exciting program! We saw so many beautiful and interesting things in a beautiful area. Buffalo and prairie dogs, mammoth bones, a neutrino lab a mile underground, a sod house, rocky wooded hills, and wide-open prairies. We learned about tragic Native American history, rugged pioneers, and modern-day cowboys. All packed into a wonderful, memorable week. I've been telling my friends about it ever since.

(5)

This program fit perfectly with my quest to visit all the National Parks. The museums and speakers added a great deal to my experience.

(5)

A chance to travel w/o leaving your easy chair!






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Enroll With Confidence
Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.