loading spinner
Egypt

Beyond the Pharaohs: Egypt Past and Present

Program No. 12778RJ
Immerse yourself in the wonders of Egypt, exploring iconic pyramids, fascinating museums, vibrant bazaars and cultural treasures on this expert-led Nile study cruise.
Length
14 days
Rating (4.96)
Activity Level
Starts at
4,499
Flights start at
FREE

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
airfare
Need airfare?
Our airfare tool can help. Check it out
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Apr 14 - Apr 27, 2023
Starting at
4,499
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Apr 16 - Apr 29, 2023
Starting at
4,499
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

May 5 - May 18, 2023
Starting at
4,499
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Sep 22 - Oct 5, 2023
Starting at
4,499
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Sep 24 - Oct 7, 2023
Starting at
4,499
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Oct 6 - Oct 19, 2023
Starting at
4,599
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Oct 8 - Oct 21, 2023
Starting at
4,599
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Oct 13 - Oct 26, 2023
Starting at
4,599
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Oct 15 - Oct 28, 2023
Starting at
4,599
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Oct 20 - Nov 2, 2023
Starting at
4,599
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Nov 3 - Nov 16, 2023
Starting at
4,699
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Nov 5 - Nov 18, 2023
Starting at
4,699
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Nov 10 - Nov 23, 2023
Starting at
4,699
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Dec 1 - Dec 14, 2023
Starting at
4,699
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Dec 8 - Dec 21, 2023
Starting at
4,699
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Jan 12 - Jan 25, 2024
Starting at
4,599
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Feb 2 - Feb 15, 2024
Starting at
4,599
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Mar 1 - Mar 14, 2024
Starting at
4,599
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Apr 12 - Apr 25, 2024
Starting at
4,599
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

May 3 - May 16, 2024
Starting at
4,599
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Sep 20 - Oct 3, 2024
Starting at
4,599
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Oct 4 - Oct 17, 2024
Starting at
4,699
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Nov 1 - Nov 14, 2024
Starting at
4,699
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Dec 6 - Dec 19, 2024
Starting at
4,699
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Apr 14 - Apr 27, 2023
Starting at
5,199
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Apr 16 - Apr 29, 2023
Starting at
5,199
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

May 5 - May 18, 2023
Starting at
5,199
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Sep 22 - Oct 5, 2023
Starting at
5,199
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Sep 24 - Oct 7, 2023
Starting at
5,199
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Oct 6 - Oct 19, 2023
Starting at
5,299
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Oct 8 - Oct 21, 2023
Starting at
5,299
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Oct 13 - Oct 26, 2023
Starting at
5,299
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Oct 15 - Oct 28, 2023
Starting at
5,299
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Oct 20 - Nov 2, 2023
Starting at
5,299
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Nov 3 - Nov 16, 2023
Starting at
5,399
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Nov 5 - Nov 18, 2023
Starting at
5,399
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Nov 10 - Nov 23, 2023
Starting at
5,399
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Dec 1 - Dec 14, 2023
Starting at
5,399
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Dec 8 - Dec 21, 2023
Starting at
5,399
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Jan 12 - Jan 25, 2024
Starting at
5,299
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Feb 2 - Feb 15, 2024
Starting at
5,299
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Mar 1 - Mar 14, 2024
Starting at
5,299
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Apr 12 - Apr 25, 2024
Starting at
5,299
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

May 3 - May 16, 2024
Starting at
5,299
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Sep 20 - Oct 3, 2024
Starting at
5,299
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Oct 4 - Oct 17, 2024
Starting at
5,399
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Nov 1 - Nov 14, 2024
Starting at
5,399
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

Dec 6 - Dec 19, 2024
Starting at
5,399
Special Offer

We are pleased to offer this program with air included! Participation includes flights to and from the JFK airport. Road Scholar can assist with additional arrangements from your preferred airport, just ask for Custom Arrangements.

At a Glance

How were the pyramids built? How were the temples of Abu Simbel saved? And why does King Tut, the “boy king,” still capture the public imagination? Journeying overland and on the Nile, Egyptologists reveal the mystery behind Egypt’s storied history and the country’s place in the modern world.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Walking up to three miles per day over uneven terrain in hot conditions with little to no shade. Days are long and can include various hours standing. Stairs on this program are often uneven and without railings. This program includes two domestic flights within Egypt.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 13 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Learn from Egyptologists who lead expeditions to Saqqara, Dahshur, the Pyramids of Giza and the Sphinx.
  • Venture to the Valley of Kings, King Tut's tomb and Colossi of Memnon.
  • Delve deeper into ancient Egypt during a study cruise on the Nile.

General Notes

Ship varies by departure date.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
The Yacoubain Building
by Alaa al-Aswany
The Yacoubain Building by Alaa al-Aswany (translated into 23 languages) was the best-selling Arabic novel for 2002 and 2003 and was voted Best Novel for 2003 by listeners to Egypt’s Middle East Broadcasting Service. Set in the time of the first Gulf War in 1900 Alaa al-Aswany writes the story of Egyptian society in downtown Cairo. Characters are housed in the now downtown Cairo landmark the Yacoubain Building where Alaa al-Aswany brings complex Egyptian society alive.
The Nile Cruise
by Jenny Jobbins
Weaving classic travelers' accounts with essays and 150 color photographs, this compact book beautifully illuminates the history and allure of the towns, temples and tombs of the Nile from Abydos to Abu Simbel.
When Woman Ruled the World, 6 Queens of Egypt
by Kara Cooney
Celebrated Egyptologist Kara Conney’s narrative explores the lives of six remarkable female pharaohs, from Hatshepsut to Cleopatra, and shines a light on female power, exploring the connections between Woman’s roles as public figures then, and now.
The Nile: A Journey Downriver through Egypt’s Past and Present
by Toby Wilkinson
Wilkinson takes readers on both a historical and contemporary journey down the Nile, highlighting the small details that intertwine river landmarks with and Egypt’s ancient civilization.
The Cheapest Nights
by Yusuf Idris
Yusuf Idris writes short stories that give readers a glimpse into the social and cultural disparities of everyday Egyptian life.
Egypt Map
by Nelles
The coverage of easy-fold map -- with insets of Luxor, Valley of the Kings, Giza, the Nile River Valley, Cairo and other sites -- includes Petra, Jerusalem and most of Israel.
Eyewitness Guide Egypt
by Eyewitness Guides
A visually rich guide to the history, culture and monuments of Egypt.
The Penguin Historical Atlas of Ancient Egypt
by Bill Manley
Ingenious color maps, site plans, photographs and accompanying essays trace Egyptian civilization from the founding of Memphis through the sacking of Thebes and invasion by Alexander the Great in 332 BC in this authoritative, remarkably concise history.
Egypt, A Short History
by Robert L. Tignor
Princeton historian Tignor distills five decades of study and travel for this vivid account of the sweep and tumult of Egyptian history from the settlement of the Nile to the present.
The Rise and Fall of Ancient Egypt
by Toby Wilkinson
Toby Wilkinson, a world rewound Egyptologist, tells the story of Egypt’s great civilization, from its birth as the first nation-state to its absorption into the Roman Empire. Drawing upon forty years of archaeological research, award-winning scholar Toby Wilkinson takes readers inside Egypt’s history once ruled by divine kings who led with all-too-recognizable human emotions.
Down the Nile, Alone in a Fisherman's Skiff
by Rosemary Mahoney
Mahoney weaves the tale of her quest to row the Nile with deft portraits of the people she meets in this marvelously engaging chronicle.
A History of Egypt, From Earliest Times to the Present
by Jason Thompson
From the birth of Egyptian civilization though the Pharaohs, Ptolemaic, Roman and Coptic Egypt, the advent of Islam, the Mamluks, Ottoman empire, British occupation, Nassar, Sadat, Murabak and beyond, this succinct book traces the arc of Egyptian history and culture in just under 400 pages.
121 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.96 Average
(5) Review left 12/20/2022

Just returned from a long awaited trip to Egypt thru Road Scholar. We couldn't be happier with the trip. Great Egyptologist guide Hani Hamza added alot to the trip. We saw so many things and had a good group of people.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 12/13/2022

I'm still waiting for our tour guide (Yasser Farouk) to email me the list of participants and their email addresses for the October 23, 2022 trip.

(5) Review left 12/09/2022

Book or add the Nile boat days to your trip, it was relaxing and a great way to see Egypt . Tour leader Hanan Elbeih was a wealth of information and gave great insight into Egypt today and thousands of years ago.

(5) Review left 12/05/2022

An incredible experience to see a beautiful and historically rich country (Egypt). Comprehensive and well planned!

(5) Review left 12/03/2022

I have wanted to visit Egypt and see the pyramids ever since I was a little girl. I decided to give myself an Egyptian trip for my 60th Birthday and Road Scholar's "Beyond the Pharos" far exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend this trip to anyone interested in exploring Egypt. It was well-organized, thorough, and saw to all my creature comforts. We traveled from Alexandria to Abu Simbel, and many places in-between! We saw Pyramids, Temples, Mosques, Museums, Tombs, Crypts, bazaars, and more. We had a camel ride, a felucca boat ride, a horse and buggy ride, and cruised down the Nile on a luxury liner. The food was delicious and we stayed at 4- and 5-star hotels. The Egyptian people were very friendly and would wave to us in our tour bus. My only complaint with the Egyptian people is that the street vendors/shop owners are too pushy. Amani Nabil was our tour guide/Egyptologist and she was just fabulous. She went above and beyond the call of duty. Someone in our group twisted her ankle and Amani made sure she well-taken care of and had a wheelchair at every stop so she didn't miss anything. I wanted to dip my toe into the Mediterranean Sea so Amani helped plan a little side trip so I could do just that! Amani was knowledgeable, friendly, kind, supportive, and knows Egypt, both ancient and modern. She helped me fall in love with Egypt. This was my first Road Scholar trip, but it won't be my last!

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 11/22/2022

Where to begin..... Mohamed Shaheta was our guide. A terrific, fun, and knowledgable guide. Can't compliment Road Scholar enough for all they did for us in Egypt. Top to bottom everything was handled beautifully for our group. Mohamed always had an assistant at the ready for meals, airport directions and anything else that kept the well oiled machine working smoothly. I might add that if anyone was hindering our progress in any direction Mohamed was off the bus in a flash and getting the problem fixed immediately helping us to stay on track! I would recommend this trip 110% to anyone with the fascination I have with Egypt. The cost is incredibly low!!!! Seriously!!!! $4,500 for airfare and 11 days in Egypt?!?!?!?!? I'm still saying pinch me!!!! Just returned 2 days ago! Gregg

(5) Review left 11/21/2022

The trip of a lifetime, for sure! A lot is packed into this itinerary and none of it disappoints. Nice hotels, a lovely riverboat, great food, and all the sights.

(5) Review left 11/18/2022

Our group leader is the Expert! Ms. Le Far is amazing.

(5) Review left 10/30/2022

This was my bucket list trip and I was not disappointed. From start to finish the Road Scholar staff was spot on in their preparation and service, they did not miss a beat and made every transfer, hotel stay, and site visit an easy and pleasant experience. Diga, our guide was exceptional. I would hit another tour with her anytime! Having Mohammed to facilitate my getting into and out of Egypt among many other things was an unexpected pleasure. His ability to help navigate Egyptian customs and immigration both ways and expedite getting through the security checks made things so quick and easy. Thank you Mohammed. All the facilities and transportation was great, comfortable and clean. This tour covered so much so seamlessly because of the extraordinary preparation of the Road Scholar team. Thank you all.

(5) Review left 10/30/2022

Thoroughly enjoyed this Egyptian trip. The pace was fast, but we pretty much covered the country from the north to the south!

(5) Review left 10/24/2022

I enjoyed my trip to Egypt, which met high expectations. Our leader, Heba, was organized, knowledgeable, and had a great sense of humor. The pyramids were impressive, but there were many other things that amazed including the scenery on the Nile cruise, Abu Simbel, the Karnak temple, and the Bibilotheca in Alexandria, among many others. The materials were outdated. I do not recommend taking money out at the ATM. Several of us took money out for photo fees only to find there were no more fees. I just recommend that you talk to your tour leader before withdrawing money. There are ATM's everywhere until you get to the Nile cruise. The people in Egypt were kind and welcoming. The vendors make things stressful at times though. If you want to shop but do not like to negotiate, consider buying at the museum stores where prices are a bit higher but fixed. If you are allergic to bees, bring your EpiPen to the monastery. There were two restrooms that lacked toilet paper, but we only visited clean restrooms. I was pleased with the food except the boxed lunches. Consider ordering food from the vendor at the airport. That food was just a couple of dollars and better than the boxed lunch. Consider going sometime from November to March. I went at the end of September. There was more than one day where the temperature was 108. The tour requires quite a bit of walking and standing. Lastly, if you have time, I think many of the books on the reading list for the trip were quite good. Even though our group was small many of us brought books and exchanged them when we were done. The things we learned about we discussed with one another, and I believe it enhanced our experience. I'm not sure that I will get back to Egypt (although I would love to see the GEM when it opens), but I would definitely book the trip again in a heart beat to enjoy an incredible once in a lifetime experience.

(5) Review left 10/10/2022

Be ready to be inspired and have your breath taken away. “Beyond the Pharaohs: Egypt Past and Present” is full of the history of Ancient Egypt that begins with the Giza Pyramids and takes you down the Nile highlighting temples and museums. This trip is a must if you love Egypt!

(5) Review left 5/29/2022

While the trip as planned by RS and conducted by our guide went well, I was not pleased with my experience in Egypt. From the first day at the pyramids at Giza to the time we left, I was frequently disappointed in the ongoing expectation of locals to be tipped for services considered common courtesy.....like turning on the lights so we could navigate in one of the pyramids. We had tickets for entry, this was the job of the keepers of the entry and we were made to feel.....by the keepers.....that we should pay them! On the Nile cruise, I felt some pressure to purchase a photo pack to support the person's family. I think this trip would be better if genuine contact with locals was included...such as a dinner at someone's home or a trip in a village to learn about everyday life on the Nile. I enjoyed all of our guest lecturers and felt that I was a bit more connected but these were brief and educationally focused, not personal. I will not return and will not recommend others to travel on this trip.

(5) Review left 5/24/2022

If you’re considering a trip to Egypt now is the best time to go before the crowds return. My wife and I had a wonderful experience there on the RS tour. There are police everywhere to thwart any unpleasantries. The people are friendly and speak English in the tourist areas. Just keep in mind that Egypt is not America so it will be different from Disneyland. We went during Ramadan and were able to experience a bit of their religious activities. We also visited Christian and Jewish sites during the tour. Do your research as to weather winds etc. and you will enjoy the trip as much as we did.

(5) Review left 3/27/2022

This trip was a dream come true. Our tour director, Heba Mounir, was very knowledgeable and did her best to educate us about the complexities of Egypt's history. She also did a fantastic job of managing a diverse group of seniors, some of whom had physical challenges. We had a diverse and congenial group who enjoyed all the activities of the program. The hotels were excellent. The room on our first hotel in Cairo, Steigenberger Pyramids Hotel, had a fantastic view of the pyramids of Giza, as well as of the new Grand Egyptian Museum (GEM), yet to be opened. We were very pleased with all the accommodations, including those on the MS Legacy. Unfortunately, the restaurant on the Legacy was very crowded during our meals (full capacity) and we had to seat right next and across from each other. We wore our face coverings around the buffet, while getting food, but of course we had to take them off to eat. This is probably why several of us tested positive for COVID when we came back home, despite the fact that we wore our masks indoors and on the planes and buses. Overall, we loved this trip, even though it was not possible for us to avoid getting COVID. The good news is that those who contracted it experienced mild symptoms and no one got seriously ill.

(5) Review left 3/21/2022

I just returned from 2 weeks on Road Scholar's "Beyond the Pharaohs: Egypt Past and Present. It could not have been better! It's a fast paced program that keeps one's interest from day to day and yearning for more! I will have memories for a life time. Put it on your list of travels. You won't be disappointed.

(5) Review left 3/16/2022

Egypt Past and Present was an amazing experience. The archaeological sites are mind-boggling, our guide Hossam was fabulous, the accommodations were great. Every detail was well planned.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 3/02/2022

Wow, it's been over a week since we came home from Egypt and I am still in awe of the wonders we visited and the amazing people I met. Hosam Eldon Amer Abollnassr, our Egyptologist, is an amazing guide, teacher and advisor. He utilized every teachable moment to make the past come alive for us, while leading us to know the vibrant country of present day Egypt. This was truly the trip of a lifetime...but I will admit that Egypt still beckons and I am sure I will venture there again. Especially if Hosam is leading us into more adventure. Road Scholar allowed for wonderful accommodations, comprehensive travel arrangements, exciting opportunities (King Tut's Tomb!!!) and incredible experiences. I must say that our group of travel companions were world class and we made a great group of eager learners.

(5) Review left 2/27/2022

This trip was an adventure of a lifetime! If you have the chance to take it, by all means, jump on it! For the price, everything is included except one meal (you can save something off the buffet earlier to cover that if you want), and maybe a bathroom attendant tip if you're so inclined. All the other customary tipping is done for you. If you want to buy souvenirs or pay for extra services at the hotels, extra beverages or treats, of course you can, but it's nice to know you've already paid for everything in the program. I thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience and learned so much! I will cherish the memories forever. Accommodations were comfortable and food was good. Bottled water was provided every day, in every location. We also had a security escort every day, so we felt completely safe. Our guide was exceptional and made the whole thing a great experience. I highly recommend this trip!

(5) Review left 2/21/2022

If going to Egypt is on your bucket list, then Road Scholar is the program of choice. Everything you wanted to know, see, experience, and more. Strongly recommend it.

(4) Review left 1/31/2022

My tour in Nov 2021 had perfect weather and a great group of fellow participants. The river cruise was a highlight and could've gone on for another few days if I'd had my way. On the other hand, changing hotels every couple days prior to the cruise was a lowlight. The lowest of lowlights for the trip, though, was the horse-drawn carriage ride at Edfu...bad streets and no suspension in the carriages (OUCH!). Take LOTS of US dollar bills for tips...they're preferred over Egyptian Pounds. And be prepared to pay for COVID testing in local currency...that wasn't obvious in the trip materials. Another lowlight was poor wifi access almost everywhere...only the Intercontinental Semiramis Hotel in Cairo had reliable wifi. Meals were good although I chuckled when the evening meal the first three nights were all given different, fancy names but were the same thing...chicken with rice. Lots of meat is served with the meals but few vegetables. And beware of eating outside of hotels or cruise ships...most everyone on our tour got intestinal illness and I traced mine back to a local restaurant in Alexandria. Just because Road Scholar takes you to a local restaurant apparently doesn't mean they follow food preparation protocols to suit U.S. visitors. Heed all warnings provided regarding eating in Egypt to keep from getting sick and ruining your vacation. Going in I thought this would be the only trip to Egypt I would ever make, but I feel like I didn't get the complete experience I expected so may need to return some day. The new Grand Egyptian Museum which was supposed to open late 2021 still isn't open and we were told it may not open until late 2023. That information wasn't available when I signed up for my tour. The tour buses were generally great and plenty of bottled water was provided. Our security escorts were very professional and looked out for us the entire trip. I felt very safe having them with us.

(5) Review left 1/30/2022

This was an amazing trip! Everything was exceptionally planned out and executed. Our leader was outstanding. I had fantastic experiences, learned about Egypt in a myriad of ways and met wonderful people with whom I hope to stay in touch. I really wouldn't change a thing! It was a trip of a lifetime!!!

(5) Review left 1/30/2022

The temples and pyramids are even MORE interesting than I expected. Wonderful to get to go to so many sites and learn so much. IT is an AMAZING country and an amazing trip. And, we had a great guide and a lovely congenial group.

(5) Review left 1/26/2022

Overall, the program was great. The only significant hiccup was that the "final" paperwork on the program was missing days and the hotels were wrong in some cases. The earlier paperwork was correct. This caused some anxiety, but thankfully Hani resolved it with us and other participants.

(5) Review left 12/21/2021

The program was accurately described and very comprehensive. I do not believe you could fin a better program to see Egypt for the first and maybe only time.

(5) Review left 12/17/2021

Absolutely amazing! I cannot speak highly enough about the quality and variety of experiences I had on the tour. Despite Covid concerns, I felt safe throughout the trip. If you have always wanted to visit Egypt, take this opportunity to full fill your dream.

(5) Review left 11/23/2021

Take about 50 one dollar USA bills with you for tipping.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 11/21/2021

This was my first tour ever and I chose Road Scholar as I had heard great things from friends who had used them, expected to meet like-minded people and wanted an to learn as well as sight-see. Road Scholar did not disappoint. It was a friendly group of fellow travelers. Egypt was amazing and the photos I had seen all my life did not do justice to its antiquities. Yomna, our guide, was outstanding; very knowledgeable, friendly but firm and a lot of fun. I'll definitely be a return traveler.

(5) Review left 11/19/2021

Visiting Egypt had been a lifelong dream. Road Scholar made the trip both interesting and informative. The educational aspect of their trips is what makes me keep coming back.

(5) Review left 3/26/2020

Despite the outbreak of the Covid virus and the early termination of our program, the trip was well worth it! I don't regret anything! Hopefully, we can complete this trip. The first portion of it was amazing!

(5) Review left 3/25/2020

This is an excellent tour of Egypt. The small size of the tour enabled us to make friends and to see unique items at the sites that we visited. Memorable. Bucket List. Fun.

(5) Review left 3/19/2020

The trip to Egypt was entrancing despite the ongoing coronavirus threat. RS evacuated us one day early and the evacuation was orderly and accommodating. Our leader is beyond knowledgeable! I will never forget this trip. Even though I was the only single person with couples, I felt welcomed and accepted. I would return to Egypt for more photo oops Very diverse culture.

(5) Review left 3/16/2020

A very good tour with a very good guide. I learned about pyramids, hieroglyphics and ancient Egyptian religion.

(5) Review left 3/15/2020

This trip exceeded our expectations in almost every way. The hotels varied from adequate to outstanding. All hotel meals were buffet style with excellent variety and quality. The meals that we ate away from the hotel were always interesting and tasty. The riverboat, Legacy, is a bit worn and tired, but the food and service were great. The pyramids, tombs, temples and museums were all fantastic. Egypt is indeed one of the most unique places in the world and we were filled with wonder and awe at the accomplishments of the ancient Egyptians. Modern Egypt is not as impressive, however, as the traffic congestion is horrendous, the streets and riverbanks clogged with plastic trash, crumbling & incomplete buildings everywhere, and the air (particularly in Cairo) thick with a polluted haze. At every venue we had to run the gauntlet of aggressive vendors plying their mostly made-in-China souvenirs. There was no way to avoid them, and we just kept our eyes straight ahead and said "no thank you" (la, shukraan in Arabic) a lot! The program manager, Hosam El Din Amer, really went above and beyond the call of duty to make every moment of the tour exceptional. He was always friendly and concerned about each one of us, and knew all our names by the 2nd day. His knowledge of Egyptology was astonishing, and his enthusiasm for his country was unquestionable. Travel and weather delays necessitated a change in the program which he handled skillfully and quickly, such that we did not miss any of the site visits, though our last day was incredibly long. The expert-led lectures at various venues were all interesting and educational. The trip is rated "Keep the Pace" (3 out of 4 on the RS scale), and it's definitely challenging - uneven terrain, many steps, frequently no handrails, steep slopes, etc. The daily estimates of amount of walking were usually under-estimated. Many of us wore Fitbits and found that a day might add up to 3-4 miles, though the estimate was 1.5 miles !

(5) Review left 3/14/2020

I just returned from the Beyond the Pharaohs: Egypt Past and Present program. It was fantastic. I thought it was a great value. We stayed in lovely hotels, flew business class to one of the venues, and experienced ancient historical sites you will enjoy once in a lifetime. Our tour guide Eman Elmaleh was the best! She took care of your every need. The lecturers were also very good. Again, it was a great value.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 3/12/2020

This trip was the trip of a lifetime. It exceeded our expectations. Our Egyptologist, Hesham, was wonderful and we learned so much about the culture, the history, the restoration, Islam religion as well as the political aspects of the country. It was all so well organized and the tour included everything we hoped to see. The hotels, cruise line and restaurants were all excellent. We were met at the Cairo airport by Road Scholar and was helped getting our Visa, customs and getting our baggage. That put any fears to rest. I will recommend Road Scholar to friends.

(5) Review left 3/08/2020

Do you hunger fir an intense learning experience? Are hieroglyphics, the ancient Egyptian Pharaohs and kings, the lengthy timeline of Egyptian history - both religious and political - on your bucket list? Do you want to cruise the Nile and engage the marvelous Egyptian people? If so, this Road Scholar trip is for you. Be sure to take notes - there is a lot to learn and remember! Alan Robert Proctor

(5) Review left 3/07/2020

None better!

(5) Review left 3/06/2020

This was a great trip, with a huge amount of content. The Road Scholar team made it easy to get the maximum value out of the trip, both in education and enjoyment!

(5) Review left 2/29/2020

Excellent guide Amoni Nabel, and program. We usually travel solo; however, I realized on this trip that doing so we would have not covered the same ground we did on this tour and probably would have spent more money trying to. Amoni was attentive and most informative. I have no complaints regarding the actual tour. It was beyond my expectations. I do have concerns about cancelation policies. There were people who traveled in our group who seemed ill upon arrival or who were recovering from recent orthopedic injuries. Because of the strict cancelation policy I am certain they felt forced to travel rather than give up their place without reimbursement or moving to a future group. I believe Road scholar can find away to allow delays at no extra costs for situations like this. Half our group returned with a cold virus that most likely came in with the group. This was not fun. We paid the extra cost to cancel last minute, yet we paid again in health and sickness due to your policies. Please find a method that does not penalize a traveler if they get an illness just before departure. Please make it easy and cost free to move to a latter date. Ask for a flight that arrives in the AM and one returning 9 am or later. Otherwise you will lose sleep in addition to flight loss sleep. Over all the experience and agenda was outstanding. I have a new appreciation for Egypt’s history and people. Mary ann

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 2/28/2020

This program is phenomenal! Our Guide Salwa was fabulous. She introduced us to her culture, her traditions and the extraordinary Egyptian Heritage. Every place visited was breathtaking! We learned a lot. Hotels, restaurants, buses were all excellent. This is truly a program for a lifetime!

(4) Review left 2/26/2020

I gained a whole new perspective of the ancient Egyptians. The pyramids and temples were impressive and breathtaking. I felt safe traveling through the country. Police were everywhere. The Egyptian people are welcoming. The food was interesting and tasty. Our fellow travelers were delightful. Yes, I am very happy that we did the Road Scholar Egypt program

(5) Review left 2/20/2020

For someone who had never traveled internationally this was such a positive experience that I'm already looking at other Programs. I have always wanted to go to the Greek Islands and I want to see Petra so I'm looking at those on the RoadScholar site.

(5) Review left 2/18/2020

If you have always dreamed of going to Egypt to see the wonders of its glorious past, this trips for you. It would be impossible to cram everything there is to see in 2 weeks, but what we did see is still imprinted on my brain, the pyramids, the Nile, the temples, the tombs, Cairo, Coptic Monasteries, Mosques, and fulfilled a dream of mine since 6th grade.

(5) Review left 2/13/2020

Well-paced program that checked off the boxes for everything you should see on travel to Egypt. The guide for our tour, Eman, was incredibly knowledgeable and could answer every question and discuss any topic about this wonderful country. The Egyptian people were very friendly and helpful. The accommodations and food were excellent. And the trip was very cost-effective including the airfare.

(5) Review left 2/09/2020

This was my first Road Scholar trip, and it was amazing. The trip was incredibly well organized, planned, and educational. It was more than I could have ever imagined. Our guide, Hanan El Beih, really made this trip extra special. She was so knowledgeable about all aspects of Egypt, from the centuries of incredibly rich history, to interpreting the hieroglyphs, to the culture of the people today. Hanan made me fall in love with Egypt. I am still amazed at how well planned, and smoothly this trip ran. The fact that Hanan, and Road Scholar could keep a group of 20+ people moving from site to site, riding on buses, planes, boats, camels, and horse buggies, all orderly, and timely, is a miracle in and of itself. I think we were also fortunate to be with a good group of people. Everyone was considerate, friendly, and a very timely bunch of people. I feel I made a lot of new friends on this trip. The educational lectures were an added bonus to an already amazing trip. My head is still spinning with all the past and present knowledge of Egypt. I will be forever grateful to Hanan, and Road Scholar, for what I consider a trip of a lifetime. I hope this is the first of many trips with Road Scholar.

(5) Review left 2/03/2020

We have taken two trips with Road Scholar and have thoroughly enjoyed both of them. They are highly organized, select interesting spots to visit, and all of their on-site staff have been excellent.

(5) Review left 1/27/2020

If you are considering the trip to Egypt, I strongly urge you to go. It's fascinating and the people were warm and welcoming. I'll never forget this trip and will forever be grateful to Road Scholar for all I learned.

(5) Review left 1/26/2020

Wonderful tour to see major sites of historical interest in Egypt. Loved having a river cruise combined with a land tour. At no time did we feel unsafe there. This tour is perfect for anyone interested in history.

(4) Review left 12/31/2019

This trip covered a lot of sites and gave a very complete view of ancient Egypt in the time allotted. Accommodations were first rate as was the food. I enjoyed all the other participants and the group did well together. Overall a very pleasant and enlightening experience.

(5) Review left 12/28/2019

This program "Beyond the Pharaohs: Egypt Past and Present" is an excellent program and I recommend it to anyone with any interest in learning about Egypt. The itinerary includes every location that anyone has likely heard about in Egypt. The educational content is outstanding. The food accommodations and program guide are all excellent.

(5) Review left 12/24/2019

Great trip!

(5) Review left 12/23/2019

This was a trip of a lifetime. One can not comprehend the magnitude of the Egyptian civilization from pictures alone. It must be experienced.

(5) Review left 12/23/2019

This is a great trip with a fascinating itinerary. It's fast-paced, so be prepared. But every stop was worthwhile. The trip was an excellent value as the price included airfare, all hotels and meals and all tips. Most hotels were very good and food was good throughout. Boat was very updated and needs to be upgraded, tho. What's lacking, however, is an opportunity to connect with local people - perhaps a Village visit could be added to the program. Our group was extremely compatible and we all made new friends - maybe even for future travel together.

(5) Review left 12/23/2019

It was an amazing, once-in-a-lifetime trip. Our guide was fantastic: informative, organized, funny, and kind. Our fellow travelers were some of the best and most interesting folks we have ever had the pleasure to spend time with. The trip hit everything on our wish list and so much more!!

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 12/20/2019

This trip was amazing! We spent 14 days exploring pyramids, temples and cities. We rode camels. The Nile cruise was wonderful. We visited Alexandria in the north to Abu Simbel in the south and everything in between. Ancient Egypt left us fascinating and unbelievable monuments. Egypt is so interesting and the people are honest and very nice. I felt very safe and very welcome. The trip was very well organized. Road Scholar thought of everything. The hotels were great. And our guide Ahmed was outstanding! I suggest this trip if you have any interest at all in Egypt or in history.

(5) Review left 12/19/2019

This trip was amazing, amazing, amazing. I have been fascinated with the ancient Egyptians and their culture for 50+ years and this was a trip of a lifetime. It was well planned from hotel accommodations, meals, sites and lectures. Our group leader was extremely knowledgeable. For anyone considering this program, I would recommend them to take it. If you like the ancient Egyptian culture, their pyramids and temples, you won't be disappointed. I'm thinking of going back again.

(5) Review left 12/17/2019

Another great RS trip. The sights we saw were all fantastic. We saw every wonderful thing there was to see. This was an active trip but not overly hard. We were on the go all day. The time on the Nile was wonderful. We had a great group and a fantastic leader in Ibrahim Hamza. We felt really safe. There is no street crime or pickpockets. Funny thing - a hurricane formed over the Mediterranean and we had a day of rain in Alexandria. A rare experience. My husband and I both felt so healthy in Egypt. This truly was a trip of a lifetime. I enjoyed being in a non-Western country. It really was a fantastic trip.

(5) Review left 12/17/2019

A very thorough overview of Egypt, its fantastic Antiquities, the main cities of Cairo, Alexandria (and its Greek and Roman vestige), Luxor, Karnak and Aswan, tasting of good food (Egyptian and Western cuisine) - What more do you wish for?

(5) Review left 12/16/2019

This is a phenomenal journey which I highly recommend. We did and learned so much.

(5) Review left 12/16/2019

This is a trip of a lifetime! The country is very safe and we had our own security detail. We were active all day long, with our own Egyptologist,experiencing as much as we possibly could in 2 weeks. You need to be able to climb steps, walk all day long on uneven terrain, otherwise you will miss a lot of the trip. Get in shape and go! You won’t regret it.

(5) Review left 12/16/2019

This trip was excellently planning and presented. We thoroughly toured Egypt and still had a little down time to recuperate every day. Our guide, Bassem, was excellent and his knowledge of ancient Egypt is unsurpassed. This is an excellent trip to fulfill one of those bucket dreams.

(5) Review left 12/16/2019

Beyond the Pharaohs was an exceptional trip with an exceptional leader. Ahmed Bekheet is the best person to guide you through the sites of Egypt. He is knowledgeable, congenial, funny, warm, caring, and just an all around wonderful person. I was also lucky enough to have a fantabulous group who enjoyed each other immensely. I went as a single but you would not have known it. It was a wonderful experience, with awesome people and I never felt fearful for my safety. I felt taken care of. And I learned a ton. Recommend highly if you are interested in the history of Egypt.

(5) Review left 12/13/2019

I wrote an earlier review, but forgot to mention something important. At many of the sites in Egypt, a special photography permit was required to use a camera other than a cell phone. The permits required Egyptian pounds to purchase and most were somewhat pricey. I do not recall reading about this requirement in any of the pre trip literature, so I was not prepared. Would have appreciated knowing about that in advance.

(5) Review left 12/09/2019

Road Scholar exceeded my expectations. Everything about the trip was wonderful! I consider myself a avid traveler. I will recommend Road Scholar.

(5) Review left 12/03/2019

Comprehensive and strenuous. Flight arrangements could have been better.

(5) Review left 12/03/2019

This is a fantastic program with wonderful accommodations and a very well informed instructor.

(5) Review left 12/02/2019

This was an excellent program. Manal was a terrific guide and leader. We highly recommend this program!

(5) Review left 12/01/2019

This is a "trip of a lifetime"... If you've ever wanted to go to Egypt, go now!

(5) Review left 11/24/2019

This was the most amazing, wonderful trip and tour ever. Safety was never a concern as we toured pyramids, temples, monasteries and mosques. I brought back a new appreciation and knowledge of both ancient and modern Egypt.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 11/24/2019

Absolutely awe inspiring! I always felt safe. The food was very good, the accommodations were A+. I tell everyone I meet to go to Egypt. It is a fantastic tour, especially with Road Scholar. Thanks to our Egyptologist, Bilal, it was educational and he can read hieroglyphics! And tell the story it tells.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 11/22/2019

Absolutely, way beyond my expectations. Amazing, informed Egyptologist guide, from start to finish. Great accommodations and worry free travel and entrance to historic sites. I can’t imagine a better travel experience in Egypt......Thank you so very much! Tip: Never refuse a bottle of water.......seriously.

(5) Review left 11/20/2019

The EGyptian trip with Road Scholar was a long anticipated journey and I was not disappointed. The best trip this seasoned traveler has ever taken!

(5) Review left 11/18/2019

It was exhilarating to see Egypt with an expert Egyptologist. Everyday was better than the previous one, and the learning experiences got compounded as we spend more days in the country. I like the organization of the trip, with the pyramids first, because in my mind, they represented Egypt (from the little I knew). As we traveled to Upper Egypt and started visiting Temples, my awareness of Egypt's history and amazing past exploded in a way I had not imagined. My learning, one of the reasons I choose Road Scholar, went as far as my limited previous knowledge could take me. But the appetite for the significance of this country in shaping world's societies was opened and will stay with me for the rest of my days. I appreciate the program planners, our Guide Magdy Zayed, the Cairo and Upper Egypt coordinators, the airport supporting staff, and the security who accompanied us everywhere. Well done Road Scholar! Your practices will pay off as more people will flock to this beautiful bastion of civilization! I always felt safe and well cared for while in Egypt and I know your planning had a lot to do with that feeling. My largest hug and gratitude to our outstanding guide Magdy Sayed for his equanimity under all circumstances, his vast knowledge of his country's history, and his deliberate and well managed support for each one of us who participated on this wonderful trip.

(5) Review left 8/11/2019

As many people say this is a bucket list trip. It was superb. I can't even name all the places we went. The river cruise down the Nile to many of the historical sites was not only so much fun but made it possible to see so much more. Our tour leader was excellent; I can't imagine visiting the sites without someone with such expertise being any more that a picture op. I learned so much about both ancient and present day Egypt. We were also exposed to its third world qualities--the crumbling buildings, the machineless farming, which are also important to acknowledge as we try to understand our global culture.

(5) Review left 6/06/2019

Going to Egypt on your own and being able to do & see everything included in this trip would have been daunting. Our group leader Amani Nabil was so knowledgeable & wanted us all to understand that her Egypt is so different from that depicted on the evening news. Yes pyramids, King Tut, the Nile, the endless tipping to use the toilets - it's all there. Shukran!

(5) Review left 6/02/2019

This was a fantastic program. Everything I wanted to see and do in Egypt was included. It was so nice to have all accommodations and travel taken care of for me. Our guide, Manal, was fantastic. Anyone who wants to see Egypt would do well to use Road Scholar. Also, I felt completely safe while there

(5) Review left 5/29/2019

This was a wonderful, informative trip. Our Egyptologist was Manal Khalil, and she was amazing and very informative. The hotels were first class, and I felt very safe during the entire trip. Egypt is taking precautions to keep tourists safe. We covered the past history of Egypt from 3000 BC until the time of the Greco-Roman Empire (approx. 200 AD). We had several evening lectures which covered present day living conditions in Egypt. Egypt in May can be very hot. Manal managed this by starting us off early in the morning, and getting all of our outside touring done by about 2 PM. Then, we had lunch and then some free time. I would recommend that future travelers bring an umbrella in addition to a sun hat to protect themselves from the heat. I also took advantage of the free airfare from JFK; however, in the future, I will have Road Scholar also handle my travel from my hometown to JFK, too.

(5) Review left 5/29/2019

If you like ancient history the pharohs, etc. go on this trip. Seeing these magnificent sites is amazing. You cannot appreciate their size and grandeur by watching documentaries or movies.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 5/24/2019

Thank you so much for an amazing trip. Our Egyptologist, Manal Khalil was amazing. We were such a diverse group, and she was able to give each of us an amazing experience. I was somewhat leery about traveling to Egypt during Ramadan. But, with a couple of necessary minor schedule adjustments, I got so much more of an understanding of the people, particularly in the cities — what’s not to like with a party after sundown every night! All the hotels and the boat were great, and I enjoyed the local food as well. The lectures were quite diverse and amplified Manal’s discussions. I would encourage anyone taking the trip to pay the slight extra fees to get into and take pix in the pyramids, tombs and temples. You won’t regret the experiences. Also, it is hot, so a cooling scarf does wonders.

(5) Review left 5/20/2019

This is an wonderful trip that covers all of the highlights of Egypt with the added benefit of the 4 night cruise on the Nile River. Our tour leader, Manal, was the absolute best ambassador for her country that one could hope for. Her knowledge was amazing and our lecture information and instructors were all excellent. I felt safe the entire time while having the time of my life. The small group size (23) allowed us to see great sights without the hassle of keeping up with a big group. All of the hotels were top notch and the in country (and to country) travel arrangements were organized and efficient. Maybe the top ranked RS trip I've taken so far!

(5) Review left 5/13/2019

The Beyond the Pharohs Road Scholar program was incredible. The content was engaging and high-caliber. I could not have imagined attempting to plan a trip of such scale on my own, and was hugely grateful to have such a professional company take care of all details. Additionally, my family experienced a medical emergency while on the trip and Road Scholar was so supportive and helpful, ironing out every logistical detail for us.

(5) Review left 5/12/2019

This program exceeded my already high expectations. The accomodations were great, the field trips fascinating and the lectures interesting.

(5) Review left 5/07/2019

WOW! If you have any interest in ancient Egypt, this is the trip to take. And safety should not be a concern. Road Scholar and the Egyptian authorities made it a #1 priority. I never had one moment of unease. Security was "over the top".

(5) Review left 4/22/2019

Beyond the Pharaohs: Egypt Past and Present is a tour that gives the traveler a sense of the past and vision of Egypt's future. Prepare to be amazed on a daily basis at the wonders of the past juxtaposed with the challenges of modern Egypt.

(5) Review left 4/21/2019

The program will immerse you in the grandeur of Ancient Egypt, but it will also provide you with a lens to view the modern era and its unique and systemic challenges.

(5) Review left 4/08/2019

Our first Road Scholar trip and will definitely return for another—have traveled extensively with other tour companies, with itineraries as the deal-breaker. Road Scholar was chosen because of Alexandria and Abu Simbel as parts of the program and not as extensions. Road Scholar came highly recommended by friends with absolutely no negative comments. I would highly recommend Road Scholar to others and plan to travel with them again.

(5) Review left 4/08/2019

Our trip to Egypt "Beyond the Pharaohs: Egypt Past and Present" was amazing and wonderful! I especially learned a great deal from having the great good fortune to learn from our Egyptologist guide Michael Makram Naguib. He is so knowledgeable and a gifted teacher! It also impressed me that he could discuss other countries like Israel and other religions' histories as well as art and engineering concepts and could answer questions on any of those subjects without notes or needing to look up the answers to our questions! We saw and learned so much on this trip and I will have lots to remember and think about for a long time to come. At all times I felt safe and well cared for, even when crossing busy streets with crazy traffic in Cairo and especially with a security person on all our buses and conspicuously but discretely caring for our group.

(5) Review left 4/07/2019

A truly amazing, wonderful experience. Our guide was superb; accommodations and meals were excellent; the program content was truly awesome.

(5) Review left 4/03/2019

If you have ever dreamed of walking among the Great Pyraminds, running your fingers along the giant ancient sandstone hieroglyphs in Luxor, or sailing across the Nile in a genuine felucca, then this is the trip for you. Our tour guide Mona worked tirelessly to ensure our experience at each site was educational, meaningful, and fun. She openly shared her personal stories about growing up in Egypt, being a modern Islamic woman/mother, and living through the Arab spring. Although the trip sometimes stretched our comfort zone, safety was never an issue as we were accompanied by at least one security guard at all times. We learned so much about Egypt and this beautiful yet ancient corner of the world. We hope to return some day and possibly linger a little longer at some of the most marvelous sites in the world!

(5) Review left 4/02/2019

Since I was six years old, I wanted to go to Egypt. This trip more than fulfilled this dream and exceeded my expectations.

(4) Review left 4/01/2019

Remember that warmer temperatures may lower your comfortable activity level.

(5) Review left 3/31/2019

This learning adventure was fabulous and far exceeded my expectations. I would highly recommend it!

(5) Review left 3/26/2019

Don't miss this fabulous program!

(5) Review left 3/25/2019

My wife and I just returned from Egypt: Beyond the Pharaohs, and were totally impressed with our first Road Scholar tour. Egypt is not a country that I'd do on my own, so I looked at many tour operators prior to booking. I would not have traded places with any of the many other tour groups that we encountered during our travels. Mona, our tour leader, is a walking encyclopedia regarding all things Egypt (both past and present). She may be the best tour guide in all of Egypt. Road Scholar's "Egypt team" does a fantastic job, from the time you arrive to the time you depart. I'm already saving up money for my next Road Scholar trip.

(5) Review left 3/17/2019

I’m exhausted but had a wonderful time! Very complete and excellent tour of Egypt!

(5) Review left 3/12/2019

If you've ever wanted to go to Egypt, or even if you haven't go! I'm so happy to have experienced this piece of history that I knew, and now to have special context around it. I'll be back!

(5) Review left 3/12/2019

If you want an University level educational tour that explains Egypt’s history, geography, religions, culture and economics from the Old Kingdom to the present day then this is the tour for you. My trip’s accommodations included 4 different hotels and a cruise ship on the Nile River. I am not sure if Road Scholar uses the same hotels and ship for every tour so I won’t elaborate by name. However, I would rate 3 of the hotels 5 star luxury and one 4 star. All hotels were very clean, the rooms spacious with nice amenities such as an electric kettle and hair dryer. My room in Giza had a view of the pyramids and my room in Cairo had a view of the Nile. The ship was a little dated and I give it only a 3.5 rating. However, the cabin was large with a sliding glass door, the single bed very comfortable, the room/linens were as clean as the hotels, and the restaurant staff very friendly. Each days breakfast and dinner is served at the hotel’s buffet style restaurant. The buffets ran from fabulous to middle of the road. The lunches were at different locations each day. The lunch at the Fish Market Restaurant in Alexandria was the highlight of the lunches, just delicious and not a buffet. This is not a “vacation”. You will be getting up every day about 6:00am and touring to about 5:00pm. There is a lot of walking. There are no programmed shopping experiences. But you will have some short shopping opportunities at some of the sites. There are some fun, lighter experiences - the fulucca ride on the Nile in Aswan and entertainment on the cruise ship. This was my first tour with Road Scholar. I found the price much lower than the other tours groups I researched. The quality of the tour, hotels and food exceeded my expectations at this price point. I highly recommend Road Scholar. I will book through them again.

(5) Review left 3/11/2019

The trip of a lifetime. We covered so much in two weeks, the group was congenial and tour leader was excellent. It was great value for money, since everything was included, even tips. My only out of pocket expenses were for drinks and souvenirs. We stayed in international hotels of high standard, and each day was a new adventure. It was my first tour ever, and the only way I would have attempted Egypt. Time after time the locals said, “tell the Americans to come back.” I recommend it.

(5) Review left 3/10/2019

This program was packed full of a variety of sites and experiences: tombs, temples, museums, lectures, pyramids, ancient archeological sites, churches, and more. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and knew how to present interesting information. The group was small with interesting, friendly people. It couldn’t have been better.

(5) Review left 3/10/2019

Looking at photos of the iconic pyramids and temples of ancient Egypt is not enough. You have to experience them in person. You will be permanently awestruck at their majestic size and artistic quality. This trip will show you everything of importance from ancient to contemporary Egypt.

(5) Review left 3/10/2019

This was our first trip with Road Scholar, and we were very satisfied. We definitely intend on going on more Road Scholar trips in the future.

(5) Review left 3/09/2019

This program takes you far beyond the pyramids and the sphinx, which is all most of us know about ancient Egypt. It reveals what an fascinating, and in many ways advanced, culture existed in Egypt beginning 4500 years ago. Highly recommended.

(5) Review left 3/08/2019

A must do adventure providing valuable perspectives and understanding about our past and present that can only be done by this travelling/lecturing small group experience.

(5) Review left 3/07/2019

Beyond the Pharoahs was an expertly organized and executed tour with the pacing thoughtfully done. The guide was thoroughly knowledgeable and personable and attention to safety was paramount at all locations. This was the trip of a lifetime with fellow travelers who will now be lifetime friends.

(5) Review left 3/05/2019

Egypt was far outside of my comfort zone as a native Montanan. So glad my wife is brave and adventurous! Bilal, our tour guide, was a great ambassador, and made us feel safe and welcome in all of the different venues. A must-visit in your lifetime area of the world!

(5) Review left 3/04/2019

This was my first organized tour and Road Scholar trip. It was exceptional. I highly recommend this Egypt program. Our guide, Bassem, was the best! A totally amazing and memorable trip.

(5) Review left 3/04/2019

Excellent and comprehensive tour led by excellent guide, lecturers, and drivers. No issues with safety as tourist police were with us most times. The Nile Valley in Egypt is ripe for greatly expanded tourism from around the world, so go while it is not too crowded.

This reviewer did not give a star rating. Review left 3/03/2019

Beyond the Pharaohs - Egypt Past & Present was packed with history, sight-seeing, and fun – the most intense trip I’ve taken with RS. The people of Egypt are very friendly and happy to see American tourists. I didn’t have problems with the water or food. RS made sure we had a bottle of water with each meal, in our rooms, and on the buses. I never felt afraid anywhere in Egypt, even though in Cairo and Alexandria we had a guard riding with us and sometimes an escort too. Our guide and Egyptologist, Bilal, gave us so much fascinating information. He was upbeat and diplomatic which rounded out a very enjoyable group of traveling companions. I would rate this tour on the intense end of "at your own pace". The terrain is rough, with lots of uneven stone steps w/o railings. Inside old buildings there are a lot more stairs and no elevator on the cruise ship. I recommend bringing a walking stick and 1 or 2 pair of comfortable, “industrial-strength” tie shoes for the daytime. I usually wore jeans and a long-sleeved top, plus a lightweight jacket. Most evenings are not dressy. Women only need a skirt or nicer pair of pants, a couple dressier tops plus a pair of flats or low-heeled shoes for evenings. Alexandria is cooler so bring a sweater. February temps are mostly in the 50s-60s. We reached 70 for a couple days in the southernmost point of the trip. I kept a journal in addition to taking pictures to remember everything that happened. Egypt was a wonderful surprise. I consider this trip worth the money spent - 5 stars. I thought it was well-planned by RS. And thank you for an excellent guide - Bilal!

(5) Review left 3/01/2019

No marketing can describe the feeling of opening your hotel curtains and the Pyramids are right in front of you! Imagine a group of enthusiastic companions, passionate Egyptologist, comfortable accommodations and ethnic food, unexpected cultural comparisons, and peacefully floating the Nile. Discover that Egypt has more historic monuments than anywhere else in the world. Road Scholar trips are more education, than vacation, but there are “touristy” experiences as well. We highly recommend travel to Egypt now, rather than “some time”!

(5) Review left 2/28/2019

This is the most comprehensive Egyptian tour that I have found. We saw everything on my list and there are only a few places I would consider returning to see more than we had time for on this tour. If you are interested in Egypt and it's antiquities this is the tour for you.

(5) Review left 2/25/2019

We just returned from the 2/10 trip. All we can say is GO!!! It was safe, fun, awe inspiring. You will not regret it! The food and accommodations were better than expected. The top four things about this program were the Pyramids, the Valley of the Kings, the cruise and our guide Bilal. We can't wait to go on another trip!

(5) Review left 2/23/2019

Excellent tour and tour guide. Good pace and Nile boat cruise an extra bonus. Security was excellent throughout trip.

(5) Review left 2/23/2019

Beyond the Pharaohs: Egypt Past and Present is an excellent way to see, experience and learn about the 5,000 year old antiquities we usually only experience in pictures or documentaries. It is a trip never to be forgotten.

(5) Review left 2/20/2019

This program built upon the excellent experiences that my wife and I had with Road Scholar programs in the past (China and African Safari). It would be difficult for me to improve on our experience in any way. Our Program Guide, Bassem Sameh, was simply extraordinary. His knowledge of the subject matter, and his patience and enthusiasm in explaining it to our group were outstanding. His good humor and unflappable nature made the entire experience very enjoyable.

(5) Review left 2/19/2019

I saw many world-class sites and slept not enough. There were some very early wakeup calls. Our first hotel had a view of all three Giza pyramids from our window. The four days on the Nile were a relaxing break with very good buffet food. We were accompanied almost everywhere by an armed tourist policeman. For CPAP users, distilled water was not available. The reviews in this thread give an accurate description of trip highlights.

(5) Review left 2/10/2019

This tour is full of amazing sights and wonderful experiences--from crawling into the heart of a pyramid (stunning in its darkness and quiet)to floating peacefully down the immense Nile watching birds at sunrise. Road Scholar has the tour so smoothly organized that multiple changes of locale in a complicated and bustling society are effortless, not anxiety-provoking. I couldn't have done it on my own.

(5) Review left 2/10/2019

This is an excellent educational tour of Egypt and the two week time frame was about right for what we had to see. Our tour guide, Bassem was excellent and very knowledgable. I saw all the ancient sites I had read about and really enjoyed seeing the Pyramids in Giza, the Valley of the Kings and Abu Simbel. If you are passionate about ancient Egyptian history like I am then this tour is for you.

(5) Review left 2/03/2019

Just returned from my trip to Egypt. If you are thinking about taking this trip, you will not be disappointed. It was my lifelong dream to visit, and it was an amazing experience. From the time I stepped off the plane to when Road Scholar took us back for our return home flight, RS was there to help us and guide us every step of the way. Rest assured, you will be well taken care of - water, food, security, housing, tours, comfort. All you have to do is enjoy the journey and the incredible sights and sounds of Egypt. This was my first RS trip, and I will definitely look into doing more.

(5) Review left 1/14/2019

We had an absolutely marvelous wonderful time! Ahmed Bekheet was a brilliant tour leader. The trip surpassed all my hopes. Highly recommend this adventure of a lifetime.

(5) Review left 1/03/2019

Don't hesitate to take this trip! We loved everything about it. Our tour guide Amal was wonderful. Our group of 22 persons was a joy to spend time with. Food was delicious, accommodations were excellent. The Egyptian people are warm and kind. It was such a rewarding experience to learn about the culture. The monuments we saw left us awestruck. We felt very safe the entire time.






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.