loading spinner
11921
New York

The Best of Theater in New York: Behind the Velvet Curtain

From Broadway to Off-Broadway to behind-the-scenes of Broadway, dive deep into the world of New York theater as you take in three performances and meet with theater professionals.
Rating (5)
Program No. 11921RJ
Length
5 days
Starts at
1,649
New York

The Best of Theater in New York: Behind the Velvet Curtain

From Broadway to Off-Broadway to behind-the-scenes of Broadway, dive deep into the world of New York theater as you take in three performances and meet with theater professionals.
Length
5 days
Starts at
1,649
Program No. 11921 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Oct 11 - Oct 15, 2021
Starting at
2,099
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Nov 8 - Nov 12, 2021
Starting at
2,099
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Nov 29 - Dec 3, 2021
Starting at
2,099
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Dec 13 - Dec 17, 2021
Starting at
2,099
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Jan 24 - Jan 28, 2022
Starting at
1,649
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Feb 21 - Feb 25, 2022
Starting at
1,649
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Mar 21 - Mar 25, 2022
Starting at
1,949
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Apr 4 - Apr 8, 2022
Starting at
1,949
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Apr 11 - Apr 15, 2022
Starting at
1,949
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

May 9 - May 13, 2022
Starting at
1,999
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

May 23 - May 27, 2022
Private Group
Starting at
1,999
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Jun 13 - Jun 17, 2022
Starting at
1,999
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Jul 18 - Jul 22, 2022
Starting at
1,899
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Aug 29 - Sep 2, 2022
Starting at
1,899
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Sep 26 - Sep 30, 2022
Starting at
2,099
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Oct 10 - Oct 14, 2022
Starting at
2,099
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Nov 7 - Nov 11, 2022
Starting at
2,099
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Dec 12 - Dec 16, 2022
Starting at
2,099
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Oct 11 - Oct 15, 2021
Starting at
2,779
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Nov 8 - Nov 12, 2021
Starting at
2,779
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Nov 29 - Dec 3, 2021
Starting at
2,779
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Dec 13 - Dec 17, 2021
Starting at
2,779
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Jan 24 - Jan 28, 2022
Starting at
2,029
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Feb 21 - Feb 25, 2022
Starting at
2,029
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Mar 21 - Mar 25, 2022
Starting at
2,559
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Apr 4 - Apr 8, 2022
Starting at
2,559
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Apr 11 - Apr 15, 2022
Starting at
2,559
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

May 9 - May 13, 2022
Starting at
2,639
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

May 23 - May 27, 2022
Private Group
Starting at
2,639
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Jun 13 - Jun 17, 2022
Starting at
2,639
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Jul 18 - Jul 22, 2022
Starting at
2,499
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Aug 29 - Sep 2, 2022
Starting at
2,499
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Sep 26 - Sep 30, 2022
Starting at
2,779
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Oct 10 - Oct 14, 2022
Starting at
2,779
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Nov 7 - Nov 11, 2022
Starting at
2,779
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

Dec 12 - Dec 16, 2022
Starting at
2,779
Itinerary Note

Exact performance titles will be announced approximately six weeks prior to the program start date.

At a Glance

Hit the streets of the Great White Way and discover the excitement of New York’s incredible theater scene, from Broadway events to the adventurous Off-Broadway stage and beyond. Get an inside look at a world ordinary members of the audience never see as you spend five days immersed in New York theater and in personal encounters with those who help create it.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Walking up to three miles per day with stairs. Public transportation used exclusively throughout program.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 10 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Attend a Broadway musical, a dramatic production and an Off-Broadway show.
  • Visit a Broadway theater and explore Times Square’s theatrical history.
  • Enjoy a behind-the-scenes discussion of the page-to-stage process with key staff such as a producer, director or theater manager.

General Notes

Performances are decided about six weeks in advance, when we purchase the tickets. We strive for a well balanced program incorporating the newest productions. We seldom attend shows that have been on Broadway more than a year or are traveling.
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Daniel Egan
Daniel Egan has degrees in music theory from St. Olaf, the Eastman School of Music and Yale, where he is on faculty. He has appeared as soloist or ensemble singer with the New York Philharmonic, Opera Orchestra of New York, Brooklyn Academy of Music, and was in the permanent ensemble at New York City Opera. His recordings include “Sweeney Todd” with the New York Philharmonic and backup vocals for Patti Page’s "Live at Carnegie Hall: The 50th Anniversary Concert.” Both earned Grammy nominations.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Daniel Egan
Daniel Egan View biography
Daniel Egan has degrees in music theory from St. Olaf, the Eastman School of Music and Yale, where he is on faculty. He has appeared as soloist or ensemble singer with the New York Philharmonic, Opera Orchestra of New York, Brooklyn Academy of Music, and was in the permanent ensemble at New York City Opera. His recordings include “Sweeney Todd” with the New York Philharmonic and backup vocals for Patti Page’s "Live at Carnegie Hall: The 50th Anniversary Concert.” Both earned Grammy nominations.
Profile Image of Stephen Cole
Stephen Cole View biography
Stephen Cole is an internationally produced, published and recorded writer. As librettist and lyricist, Mr. Cole has had his musicals produced Off-Broadway and in London. Besides writing 10 years of Drama League tributes — honoring Liza Minnelli and Chita Rivera, among others — Stephen has written for such stars as Tyne Daly and Valerie Harper. Stephen has published three books, including “That Book About That Girl,” the unofficial companion to the Marlo Thomas sitcom from the 1960s.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
The Life of the Drama
by Eric Bentley
Musical Theater: A History
by John Kenrick
Off The Wall At Sardi's
by Vincent Sardi
I Could Have Sung All Night: My Story
by Marni Nixon & Stephen Cole
Razzle Dazzle: The Battle for Broadway
by Michael Reidel
Ghost Light
by Frank Rich
Noel Coward: A Bio-Bibliography
by Stephen Cole
The Secret Life Of The American Musical
by Jack Viertel
Act One
by Moss Hart
I Wanna Be A Producer
by John Breglio
The Book About That Girl
by Stephen Cole
A Day At The New Amsterdam Theater
by Dana Amendola & Gina Domenico
5 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
This reviewer did not give a star rating.

Our group of 4 had a 6hr flight delay & although I texted (no response btw) the contact listed in our pretrip info, I was told it would not have been received. What!?! An emergency contact which isn’t monitored? Shame on you RS. Unfortunately, we didn’t know this and had no way to contact our trip leader Stephen Cole. We missed both the Trip Orientation and arrival dinner. I suggest that you provide a number that is monitored & maybe the name of the restaurant so latecomers can join the group, as we were not alone! Loved the leaders Stephen Cole & Dan and their knowledge of the On & Off Broadway theatre scene. Their talks & guests were impressive. i was not impressed however with the show selection including 2 dramas with suicides. (One of our RS group left during the first intermission of Greater Clements & I should have too) I guess if you intended the play selection to be disturbing- you nailed it Road Scholar! Also the outrageous amount my friend Donna Hinton got from Hampton Inn for our additional 2 nights, and your discount code which is supposedly of value - ha!- was a joke. It didn’t work online and they refused to assist her either on the phone prior, when booking or in person. Yet others in our group had their reservations extended for $325 +- while ours was over $600 per night!! I’ve done theater tours since 1982 and stayed at the Days Hotel (now Hilton Garden on 8th) and for at least 15yrs the Marriott Marquis. Let’s just says the Hampton Inn does not compare in any way. Having a bathroom for the breakfast buffet down one floor in the basement is outrageous! Must say I did love the Temptations - Ain’t too Proud and our personal selections Tootsie & Tina. I was hoping I’d love this ‘class’ and want to do it annually, but at this point I’m not sure I’d recommend it. Sincerely, R’na Komarek rckomarek@yahoo.com

Road Scholar
Dear R’na, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you had issues with the logistics of this program. It is one of our top-rated programs in New York City, and many people do return to it again and again. While we believe you hit a perfect storm of unfortunate anomalies, we are already looking into the points you raise. Please know that our experts choose the shows based on what is available in a given week; each program features a different line-up. Our goal is to choose shows that provide the most interesting educational experience possible, which means that the selections often include content that engages and provokes as well as entertains. Our hope is always that all of our participants will find value in all three shows, but it can be challenging for us to make selections that match the interests of everyone in the group. That being said, we value your feedback on our selections and will keep them in mind moving forward. We’re also surprised that the hotel did not meet your standards. Other participants consistently give the hotel high marks and enjoy the central location in Times Square, and it’s a Trip Advisor top-quartile hotel. We hope you will re-consider and join us in the future. We’d love to have you back to see a new season of offerings in New York City. -Team Road Scholar
This reviewer did not give a star rating.

This was the right time for Broadway. We saw "To Kill a Mockingbird" which was absolutely wonderfully written, directed and acted. The main male actor won a Tony for his performance and his daughter (actor)did also. A memorable week. We went backstage in one wonderful Broadway theatre, tried on costumes from the Lion King, and others, talked with a Broadway producer, then a Broadway actress. So many questions answered. Thanks to all.

(5)

This program provides an outstanding overview of NYC theatre. The information shared enhanced the journey even for the experienced theatre goer. A wonderful week in NYC!

(5)

Hello, I wanted to thank you for a wonderful experience in NYC. The accommodations and location were perfect. The breakfast buffet and staff at the Hampton Inn were pleasant, helpful and generous. We could not have asked for a more welcoming and safe haven to stay. The instructors for the classes, Stephen, Dan and John were experienced, knowledgeable, friendly and just a joy to listen to. I learned so much. The chosen shows were all good, some more than others. I was not as fond of the Underlying Chris as the other two. I would like to suggest that the meals be portioned somewhat smaller. I do not need dessert at lunch AND dinner. That said, the food at all of the restaurants was wonderful. Thank goodness we walked a lot to burn off all the calories we consumed. I would also suggest that you NOT use RIU buffet as a meal choice. Despite the food being delicious and abundant, the staff of the restaurant were not very friendly. It was difficult to get a glass of wine, and then I was promptly given the check for it. I was never asked if I would like another, etc. The Matre D was curt and unsmiling. It would be nice to have a bit more free time, in case you wanted to shop or visit a museum. Most days we had only 2 hours or less of free time, which did not lend itself to more touring. Meeting an actor was a thrill. We learned much about his history and that made me appreciate his performance even more that evening. I would suggest that attendees be encouraged to wear their name badges while inside the classroom. I did not feel that I got to know names as well as I could have bc noone wore their names after the first date. Thanks for a great trip.

(5)

This was my first trip with Road Scholar. I plan to enroll in many more! Thank you for your thorough planning and excellent choice of leaders!






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Enroll With Confidence
Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.