loading spinner
11908
Florida

Birding Southwest Florida, Sanibel and the Everglades

Discover renowned birding in Southwest Florida alongside experts as you explore beaches, swamps, mangroves and islands in search of the region’s rare and beautiful birds.
Rating (4.91)
Program No. 11908RJ
Length
6 days
Starts at
1,799
Florida

Birding Southwest Florida, Sanibel and the Everglades

Discover renowned birding in Southwest Florida alongside experts as you explore beaches, swamps, mangroves and islands in search of the region’s rare and beautiful birds.
Length
6 days
Starts at
1,799
Length
6 days
Rating (4.91)
Starts at
1,799
Program No. 11908RJ

Your well-being is our #1 priority

To make your experience as safe as possible, we require all participants to be fully vaccinated. See our Safety Roadmap

Enroll with Confidence

We want your Road Scholar learning adventure to be something to look forward to—not worry about. Learn more

Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Oct 23 - Oct 28, 2022
Starting at
1,799
Dec 11 - Dec 16, 2022
Starting at
1,799
Jan 15 - Jan 20, 2023
Starting at
2,099
Feb 5 - Feb 10, 2023
Starting at
2,099
Feb 19 - Feb 24, 2023
Starting at
2,099
Feb 26 - Mar 3, 2023
Starting at
2,099
Nov 12 - Nov 17, 2023
Starting at
2,099
Nov 26 - Dec 1, 2023
Starting at
2,099
DATES & starting prices
PRICES
Oct 23 - Oct 28, 2022
Starting at
2,429
Dec 11 - Dec 16, 2022
Starting at
2,429
Jan 15 - Jan 20, 2023
Starting at
2,769
Feb 5 - Feb 10, 2023
Starting at
2,769
Feb 19 - Feb 24, 2023
Starting at
2,769
Feb 26 - Mar 3, 2023
Starting at
2,769
Nov 12 - Nov 17, 2023
Starting at
2,769
Nov 26 - Dec 1, 2023
Starting at
2,769

At a Glance

Discover diverse birding habitats in the Western Everglades and Caloosahatchee Watershed. Boardwalks, beach paths and hiking trails help us penetrate swamps, pines, oak hammocks and mangrove forests to see wintering birds and native breeders. Twenty species of wading birds call southwest Florida home, in addition to a variety of birds of prey, including Bald Eagles, Swallow-tailed Kites and the endangered Snail Kite. Purple Gallinules and eastern Burrowing Owls are our rarer natives.
Activity Level
Outdoor: No Sweat
Walking up to 2.6 miles one day; other walks 1-2 miles over varied terrain, including sand and boardwalks.
Micro Group
Micro Group
These adventures feature our smallest group size, with 12 participants or fewer.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Bird three beautiful, life-nurturing swamps in southwest Florida: Lovers Beach State Park, Audubon's Corkscrew Swamp and Harns Creek.
  • Learn about the habitat restoration of the Wood Stork and other wildlife management issues.
  • Bird at Ding Darling on Sanibel Island, one of the first national wildlife refuges established in the U.S.

General Notes

All Road Scholar birding programs have a maximum participant-to-instructor ratio of 14:1 in the field. We adhere to the American Birding Association’s Code of Ethics. Learn more at http://www.aba.org/about/ethics.html
Featured Expert
All Experts
Profile Image
Heather L Hamilton
Florida native Heather Hamilton has been exploring the beaches, lakes and forests of Florida’s wilderness since she was a little girl. As an experienced camper, hiker, biker, kayaker, fisher and photographer, Heather has seen Florida in just about every light on her extensive travels throughout the state. She studied culinary arts at the Art Institute in Fort Lauderdale and became a cook and pastry chef, but she changed careers several times before embracing her passion. She became a Master Naturalist and full-time Florida guide.

Please note: This expert may not be available for every date of this program.

Profile Image of Heather Hamilton
Heather L Hamilton View biography
Florida native Heather Hamilton has been exploring the beaches, lakes and forests of Florida’s wilderness since she was a little girl. As an experienced camper, hiker, biker, kayaker, fisher and photographer, Heather has seen Florida in just about every light on her extensive travels throughout the state. She studied culinary arts at the Art Institute in Fort Lauderdale and became a cook and pastry chef, but she changed careers several times before embracing her passion. She became a Master Naturalist and full-time Florida guide.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
How Birds Migrate
by Paul Kerlinger
Florida's Birds
by Kate/Maehr/Karalus
Peterson Field Guides
by Roger Tory
The Life of Birds
by David Attenborough
Complete Birder
by Jack Coonor
Sibleys Guide to Bird
by David Allen Sibley
12 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.91 Average
(5)

Highly recommended program for bird lovers. Our excellent, enthusiastic and knowledgeable leader Helen H ensured we observed over a hundred species and all the locations we visited - including Ding Darling, Corkscrew, Webb, Harnes, Bunche and Six Mile Cypress - were marvelous. Accommodation was very good and the meals at local restaurants were excellent. As an avid photographer, I had numerous opportunities to get good close up views of many species.

(5)

Our birding experience was satisfying (we saw approx. 100 species of birds on this trip). Our program guide was knowledgeable and congenial. We have been to Florida on several trips and this one was super.

(5)

This was a terrific program. A knowledgeable, high energy, positive leader. A wonderful variety of field trips so that we saw a wide range of birds. I recommend this program without reservation.

(5)

A fun , educational and enjoyable trip if you would like to learn about birding!

(5)

This was my second trip with Road Scholar and it didn't disappoint. In fact, it surpassed my expectations. The members shared in interest to learn, and the guide was more than willing to go above and beyond to share her passion for birds with us. I look forward to join other birding/nature trips with RS. In fact, I have already booked another one.

(5)

This is a fabulous program. Cindy tailored each day's birding to the weather, traffic, and other conditions in order to maximize birding. We saw over 100 species in 4.5 days. We also learned a lot about the Everglades and the ecosystem in general. It was a small (9) group of fun and interesting birders. I recommend this trip to anyone, including solo travelers like me.

(5)

Educational, interesting, well planned activities for maximum observation and identification of birds and their habitat

(5)

You must treat yourself to this program to see the Red-Cockaded Woodpeckers! What a special treat. Our birding guide Cindy did a great job of finding all the birds, and the winter weather in Florida can't be beat.

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

Probably my least favorite birding trip of the past 12 trips. I arrived in Ft. Myers a little after 5:00 p.m. and group leader called me to find out my status, and wanted to go ahead and take the rest of the group to dinner. I was only about 15 minutes out...so not a good start. I do know that the program starts at 5:00, but walked up the road and grabbed a sandwich. The hotel facilities were great, and dinner selections made by the leader were very good. I felt our trip was a little more scattered in planning than usual. Only 3 or 4 people of the group were birders...so I know that was a real challenge for our leader or anyone who is trying to lead a birding group. Thank you.

(5)

An excellent and thorough bird trip in SW Florida.

(5)

Very enjoyable days of birding in a variety of habitats, led by a capable and interesting leader, in a small group of 10.

(4)

A map showed no where we are going would be helpful. It seemed we had materials from Roar Scholar, a map, a bird book, handouts. Whay to many thinks to carry around






Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.