loading spinner
11586
Costa Rica

The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders

With more than 5% of the world’s biodiversity, 121 volcanic formations, 801 miles of coastline and hundreds of endemic birds, Costa Rica is a true Mecca for nature lovers to explore.
Rating (4.94)
Program No. 11586RJ
Length
12 days
Starts at
2,599
Special Offer
Click on Dates & Prices below to see special offer details.
Flights start at
475
Costa Rica

The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders

With more than 5% of the world’s biodiversity, 121 volcanic formations, 801 miles of coastline and hundreds of endemic birds, Costa Rica is a true Mecca for nature lovers to explore.
Length
12 days
Starts at
2,599
Special Offer
Click on Dates & Prices below to see special offer details.
Flights start at
475
Program No. 11586 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
airfare
Need airfare?
Our airfare tool can help. Check it out
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.

DATES & PRICES

Hotel Standard
Accommodation Details

Comfortable accommodations that meet our high standards.

Accommodation Details

Standard

Aug 9 - Aug 20, 2021
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,599
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Itinerary Note

July-September is the nesting season for Green Sea Turtles at Tortuguero. During this special time of the year, the program will include a nighttime walk along the beach led by a local guide for an opportunity to observe sea turtles as they come ashore to lay eggs. Additionally, this departure follows the 2021 itinerary for this program and will include an outrigger canoe activity at Playa Agujas in place of a cloud forest hike. Please refer to the detailed itinerary for your program for more information.

Sep 13 - Sep 24, 2021
Hotel 2,599
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Itinerary Note

July-September is the nesting season for Green Sea Turtles at Tortuguero. During this special time of the year, the program will include a nighttime walk along the beach led by a local guide for an opportunity to observe sea turtles as they come ashore to lay eggs. Additionally, this departure follows the 2021 itinerary for this program and will include an outrigger canoe activity at Playa Agujas in place of a cloud forest hike. Please refer to the detailed itinerary for your program for more information.

Sep 18 - Sep 29, 2021
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,599
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Itinerary Note

July-September is the nesting season for Green Sea Turtles at Tortuguero. During this special time of the year, the program will include a nighttime walk along the beach led by a local guide for an opportunity to observe sea turtles as they come ashore to lay eggs. Additionally, this departure follows the 2021 itinerary for this program and will include an outrigger canoe activity at Playa Agujas in place of a cloud forest hike. Please refer to the detailed itinerary for your program for more information.

Oct 11 - Oct 22, 2021
Hotel 2,599
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Itinerary Note

This departure follows the 2021 itinerary for this program. Instead of a field trip to a cloud forest, this departure will include an outrigger canoe activity at Playa Agujas. Please refer to the detailed itinerary for your program for more information.

Oct 24 - Nov 4, 2021
Hotel 2,599
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Itinerary Note

This departure follows the 2021 itinerary for this program. Instead of a field trip to a cloud forest, this departure will include an outrigger canoe activity at Playa Agujas. Please refer to the detailed itinerary for your program for more information.

Nov 2 - Nov 13, 2021
Hotel 2,849
 
Itinerary Note

This departure follows the 2021 itinerary for this program. Instead of a field trip to a cloud forest, this departure will include an outrigger canoe activity at Playa Agujas. Please refer to the detailed itinerary for your program for more information.

Nov 9 - Nov 20, 2021
Hotel 2,849
 
Itinerary Note

This departure follows the 2021 itinerary for this program. Instead of a field trip to a cloud forest, this departure will include an outrigger canoe activity at Playa Agujas. Please refer to the detailed itinerary for your program for more information.

Dec 5 - Dec 16, 2021
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,849
 
Itinerary Note

This departure follows the 2021 itinerary for this program. Instead of a field trip to a cloud forest, this departure will include an outrigger canoe activity at Playa Agujas. Please refer to the detailed itinerary for your program for more information.

Dec 7 - Dec 18, 2021
Hotel 2,849
 
Itinerary Note

This departure follows the 2021 itinerary for this program. Instead of a field trip to a cloud forest, this departure will include an outrigger canoe activity at Playa Agujas. Please refer to the detailed itinerary for your program for more information.

Jan 16 - Jan 27, 2022
Hotel 2,879
 
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Jan. 27 date of Program #20774- Costa Rica: Three Jewels in Paradise

Jan 22 - Feb 2, 2022
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,879
 
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Feb. 2 date of Program #20774- Costa Rica: Three Jewels in Paradise

Mar 5 - Mar 16, 2022
Hotel 2,879
 
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Mar. 17 date of Program #20774- Costa Rica: Three Jewels in Paradise

Mar 12 - Mar 23, 2022
Hotel 2,879
 
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Mar. 23 date of Program #20774- Costa Rica: Three Jewels in Paradise

Apr 25 - May 6, 2022
Hotel 2,829
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the May 7 date of Program #20774- Costa Rica: Three Jewels in Paradise

May 2 - May 13, 2022
Hotel 2,629
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

May 14 - May 25, 2022
Hotel 2,629
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Jun 6 - Jun 17, 2022
Hotel 2,629
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Jul 11 - Jul 22, 2022
Hotel 2,629
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Itinerary Note

July-September is the nesting season for Green Sea Turtles at Tortuguero. During this special time of the year, the program will include a nighttime walk along the beach led by a local guide for an opportunity to observe sea turtles as they come ashore to lay eggs.

Aug 2 - Aug 13, 2022
Hotel 2,629
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Itinerary Note

July-September is the nesting season for Green Sea Turtles at Tortuguero. During this special time of the year, the program will include a nighttime walk along the beach led by a local guide for an opportunity to observe sea turtles as they come ashore to lay eggs.

Sep 12 - Sep 23, 2022
Hotel 2,629
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Itinerary Note

July-September is the nesting season for Green Sea Turtles at Tortuguero. During this special time of the year, the program will include a nighttime walk along the beach led by a local guide for an opportunity to observe sea turtles as they come ashore to lay eggs.

Oct 23 - Nov 3, 2022
Hotel 2,629
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Oct. 15 date of Program #20774- Costa Rica: Three Jewels in Paradise

DATES & PRICES

Hotel Standard
Accommodation Details

Comfortable accommodations that meet our high standards.

Accommodation Details

Standard

Aug 9 - Aug 20, 2021
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,599
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Itinerary Note

July-September is the nesting season for Green Sea Turtles at Tortuguero. During this special time of the year, the program will include a nighttime walk along the beach led by a local guide for an opportunity to observe sea turtles as they come ashore to lay eggs. Additionally, this departure follows the 2021 itinerary for this program and will include an outrigger canoe activity at Playa Agujas in place of a cloud forest hike. Please refer to the detailed itinerary for your program for more information.

Sep 13 - Sep 24, 2021
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,779
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Itinerary Note

July-September is the nesting season for Green Sea Turtles at Tortuguero. During this special time of the year, the program will include a nighttime walk along the beach led by a local guide for an opportunity to observe sea turtles as they come ashore to lay eggs. Additionally, this departure follows the 2021 itinerary for this program and will include an outrigger canoe activity at Playa Agujas in place of a cloud forest hike. Please refer to the detailed itinerary for your program for more information.

Sep 18 - Sep 29, 2021
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,599
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Itinerary Note

July-September is the nesting season for Green Sea Turtles at Tortuguero. During this special time of the year, the program will include a nighttime walk along the beach led by a local guide for an opportunity to observe sea turtles as they come ashore to lay eggs. Additionally, this departure follows the 2021 itinerary for this program and will include an outrigger canoe activity at Playa Agujas in place of a cloud forest hike. Please refer to the detailed itinerary for your program for more information.

Oct 11 - Oct 22, 2021
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,599
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Itinerary Note

This departure follows the 2021 itinerary for this program. Instead of a field trip to a cloud forest, this departure will include an outrigger canoe activity at Playa Agujas. Please refer to the detailed itinerary for your program for more information.

Oct 24 - Nov 4, 2021
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,779
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Itinerary Note

This departure follows the 2021 itinerary for this program. Instead of a field trip to a cloud forest, this departure will include an outrigger canoe activity at Playa Agujas. Please refer to the detailed itinerary for your program for more information.

Nov 2 - Nov 13, 2021
Hotel 3,299
 
Itinerary Note

This departure follows the 2021 itinerary for this program. Instead of a field trip to a cloud forest, this departure will include an outrigger canoe activity at Playa Agujas. Please refer to the detailed itinerary for your program for more information.

Nov 9 - Nov 20, 2021
SOLD OUT
Hotel 3,299
 
Itinerary Note

This departure follows the 2021 itinerary for this program. Instead of a field trip to a cloud forest, this departure will include an outrigger canoe activity at Playa Agujas. Please refer to the detailed itinerary for your program for more information.

Dec 5 - Dec 16, 2021
SOLD OUT
Hotel 3,299
 
Itinerary Note

This departure follows the 2021 itinerary for this program. Instead of a field trip to a cloud forest, this departure will include an outrigger canoe activity at Playa Agujas. Please refer to the detailed itinerary for your program for more information.

Dec 7 - Dec 18, 2021
SOLD OUT
Hotel 3,299
 
Itinerary Note

This departure follows the 2021 itinerary for this program. Instead of a field trip to a cloud forest, this departure will include an outrigger canoe activity at Playa Agujas. Please refer to the detailed itinerary for your program for more information.

Jan 8 - Jan 19, 2022
SOLD OUT
Hotel 3,329
 
Jan 16 - Jan 27, 2022
Hotel 3,329
 
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Jan. 27 date of Program #20774- Costa Rica: Three Jewels in Paradise

Jan 22 - Feb 2, 2022
SOLD OUT
Hotel 3,329
 
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Feb. 2 date of Program #20774- Costa Rica: Three Jewels in Paradise

Jan 23 - Feb 3, 2022
SOLD OUT
Hotel 3,329
 
Feb 1 - Feb 12, 2022
SOLD OUT
Hotel 3,329
 
Feb 5 - Feb 16, 2022
SOLD OUT
Hotel 3,329
 
Feb 12 - Feb 23, 2022
SOLD OUT
Hotel 3,329
 
Mar 5 - Mar 16, 2022
Hotel 3,329
 
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Mar. 17 date of Program #20774- Costa Rica: Three Jewels in Paradise

Mar 12 - Mar 23, 2022
Hotel 3,329
 
Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Mar. 23 date of Program #20774- Costa Rica: Three Jewels in Paradise

Apr 25 - May 6, 2022
SOLD OUT
Hotel 3,009
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the May 7 date of Program #20774- Costa Rica: Three Jewels in Paradise

May 2 - May 13, 2022
Hotel 2,629
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

May 14 - May 25, 2022
Hotel 2,629
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Jun 6 - Jun 17, 2022
Hotel 2,629
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Jul 11 - Jul 22, 2022
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,629
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Itinerary Note

July-September is the nesting season for Green Sea Turtles at Tortuguero. During this special time of the year, the program will include a nighttime walk along the beach led by a local guide for an opportunity to observe sea turtles as they come ashore to lay eggs.

Aug 2 - Aug 13, 2022
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,629
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Itinerary Note

July-September is the nesting season for Green Sea Turtles at Tortuguero. During this special time of the year, the program will include a nighttime walk along the beach led by a local guide for an opportunity to observe sea turtles as they come ashore to lay eggs.

Sep 12 - Sep 23, 2022
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,629
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Itinerary Note

July-September is the nesting season for Green Sea Turtles at Tortuguero. During this special time of the year, the program will include a nighttime walk along the beach led by a local guide for an opportunity to observe sea turtles as they come ashore to lay eggs.

Oct 23 - Nov 3, 2022
SOLD OUT
Hotel 2,629
 
Special Offer

No added cost for single rooms! Free singles are limited. Please call for details.

Itinerary Note

This departure can be combined with the Oct. 15 date of Program #20774- Costa Rica: Three Jewels in Paradise

At a Glance

Unhurried. Active. Environmentally aware. Lush. Protected. Biodiverse. Pura Vida — the Pure Life. Costa Rica’s pervading cultural ideology unites with its natural delights to create a unique national character, in which 25 percent of the land is preserved by law and there is no standing military. This invigorating program explores the essential nature of this Central American nation, from its pristine beaches and verdant forests to its rural villages and historic capital.
Activity Level
Keep the Pace
Walking up to 1.5 hours a day over uneven trails in hot and humid conditions. Includes a number of bus transfers; no bathroom on bus but bus stops every 1.5-2 hours. Elevations up to 4,000 feet.
Small Group
Small Group
Love to learn and explore in a small-group setting? These adventures offer small, personal experiences with groups of 10 to 24 participants.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Learn from naturalists about the unique features of the rain forest, wetlands and transition zones.
  • Participate in cultural interaction activities in rural communities.
  • Admire the misty beauty and unique characteristics of a cloud forest during a trail hike and expert presentation.

General Notes

This Road Scholar program offers participants the chance to explore a number of Costa Rica’s iconic ecosystems within a relatively short period of time. Although bus travel is a necessity, it is also an opportunity to see and experience the country up close. En-route program activities help to break up lengthier bus transfers and provide rewarding educational experiences. Local road conditions, weather, two-lane highways, winding roads, traffic and elevation are bigger factors in determining the length of travel than actual distance.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
Culture Smart! Costa Rica
by Jane Koutnik
History, religion, daily life, food, health and safety are all covered in this accessible pocket guide to Costa Rican customs, etiquette and culture.
Tropical Nature
by Adrian Forsyth, Ken Miyata
Two uncommonly observant and thoughtful field biologists offer a lucid portrait of the tropics through 17 marvelous essays that introduce the habitats, ecology, plants and animals of the Central and South American rainforests.
Aroma of the World: A Journey into the Mysteries and Delights of Coffee
by Santo Versace (Foreword), Elisabetta Illy
A beautiful book for the coffee lover, this heavily illustrated compendium is equal parts history and travel journal, detailing the passage of the coffee bean from origination to current status as an icon of modern living.
Wild Costa Rica
by Adrian Hepworth
This beautiful, informative survey of the habitats, wildlife and protected areas of Costa Rica features 200 color photographs and chapters on natural history and conservation.
Nature of the Rainforest, Costa Rica and Beyond
by Adrian Forsyth, E.O. Wilson (Introduction), Michael Fogden (Photographer)
Our favorite biologist-writer returns to the Neotropics in this beautifully illustrated, oversized overview of the rainforest. With chapters on Monteverde and Guanacaste, plants, frogs and snakes, birds, monkeys and jaguars, the sloth, peculiar insects and biodioversity; A marvelous, anecdotal introduction to ecology, evolution and conservation.
Costa Rica, A Journey Through Nature
by Adrian Hepworth
Dividing the book by ecosystem and geographic area, BBC Wildlife Photographer of the Year Hepworth's color photographs showcase the diversity of Costa Rica's wildlife and habitats.
The Wildlife of Costa Rica, A Field Guide
by Twan Leenders, Robert Dean, Jim Zook, Fiona Reid
This guide includes 450 of the most common, interesting and charismatic mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians and arthropods that you are likely to encounter. Each has exquisite full-color illustrations.
Costa Rica Adventure Map
by National Geographic
A double-sided map at a scale of 1:500,000.
Costa Rica Reader: History, Culture, Politics
by Steven Palmer (Editor), Ivan Molina (Editor)
A lively, literate sourcebook on the politics, economy and society of Costa Rica
Costa Rica, A Traveler's Literary Companion
by Barbara Ras
These 26 well-chosen stories by Costa Rican writers introduce the people, culture and land.
Tropical Plants of Costa Rica
by Willow Zuchowski
Organized by habitat, this photo guide to 400 species has chapters on popular destinations, including Monteverde and Tortuguero.
The Monkey's Bridge, Mysteries of Evolution in Central America
by David Rains Wallace
Opening this absorbing account of the history and biogeography of the Central American isthmus with the tale of Columbus, Wallace often weaves his own travels in the region with a crisp overview of exploration, nature and evolution. Natural history buffs and ecologically minded travelers will appreciate this valuable resource.
Costa Rican Spanish
by Lonely Planet
A pocket guide to understanding idioms, slang and Spanish as it is spoken by the Ticos.
Costa Rican Wildlife
by Pocket Naturalist
Put it in your pocket! This handy, fold-up card includes color illustrations of dozens of typical birds, mammals and reptiles. We also carry plastic cards for Costa Rica Birds (Item CRC56) and Costa Rica Butterflies & Moths (Item CRC57), $5.95 each.
The Green Republic: A Conservation History of Costa Rica
by Sterling Evans
For the serious reader, this book offers a vivid synopsis of the founding and expansion of Costa Rica’s National Park system, including portraits of the local heroes and institutions that fought for conservation.
The Sea Turtle, So Excellent a Fishe
by Archie Carr
An appreciative and informative account of the sea turtle, its ecology and field work in Costa Rica by the man who did so much to promote sea turtle research and conservation, first published in 1967. Karen Bjorndal, director of the Archie Carr Center for Sea Turtle Research, brings the story up to date in a new foreword.
Volcanoes, Crucibles of Change
by Richard Fisher
A complete primer for the volcano lover, this heavily illustrated book covers types of volcanoes and eruptions, worldwide distribution and the physics of their formation.
Javatrekker, Dispatches from the World of Fair Trade Coffee
by Dean Cycon
Cycon, an organic coffee roaster, journeys around the world to discover the hardships of growing and selling coffee beans, in an offbeat adventure which casts light on the global trade and culture of coffee.
The Birds of Costa Rica
by Richard Garrigues, Robert Dean (Illustrator)
This new edition covers 903 species of birds with hundreds of new, supplemental or revised color illustrations by Robert Dean and revised color-coded range maps.
National Geographic Costa Rica
by Christopher P. Baker
This stylish and informative travel resource features 200 photographs, many maps and good information on the country's history, nature and culture.
56 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
4.94 Average
This reviewer did not give a star rating.

A very well organized and interesting trip with a great tour guide and great hikes and lodges. Would recommend this trip. The group size of 18 was a perfect number and would love to do another trip to Costa Rica in the future just to revisit the rain forest and all its exotic bird life. Thank you!

(5)

The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders immerses you in the wild nature across the country and gives you insight as to how much the native people care about preserving wild creatures and habitat. Fantastic!

(5)

Highly rrcommend this program with slight modifications for free time. Edwin Ramirez as guide and Ronaldo as driver were spectacular. Small group size was perfect

(5)

This was my 2nd Road Scholar program and I thought it was excellent. It was well balanced in terms of content ranging from seeing and learning about Costa Ricas wildlife and ecology to meeting some of its people and getting a sense of their culture and heritage. (NOTE: This IS a "NATURAL Wonders" program so you will get much more of the wildlife/ecology than the culture/heritage.) I particularly enjoyed the opportunities to take photographs. (Bring a good camera with telephoto if you have one.) Two of the lectures on biodiversity and the ecological impacts of volcanoes and earthquakes were particularly good. The pace of the program (for me) was also good, keeping us going from early morning to early evening; but not over-doing it. Our group leader was outstanding and I think made an overall good program into an excellent one. Hopefully all the groups leaders are as talented.

(5)

Our trip to Costa Rica to explore the natural wonders was very informative and a joy to participate in. The cleanliness of the accommodations and the Beautiful bus we're great. The food represented the best of Costa Rica. And our guide who was incredibly informed of all things flora and fauna. I would highly recommend this trip if you want to learn more about Costa Rica.

(5)

We have been on 4 road scholar trips and have enjoyed each one. However, on this trip to Costa Rica we had the ultimate guide, Roger. He was knowledgeable about all of the natural wonders and, as a Tico himself, knew quite a bit about the country in general. In addition to his knowledge of Costa Rica he was particularly adept at meeting our various needs be they dietary or whatever. He was always there for us. The speakers at our educational programs and on our field trips expanded our understanding immeasurably. Also wonderful was our driver. He took us safely down narrow, bumpy roads by bus on roads that I would not have driven myself.

(5)

The title says it all: the trip covered Costa Rica coast-to-coast with plenty of opportunities to see the outdoors and wildlife of the different regions. Excellent field trips, plantation tours, and activities such as boat tours, river rafting, and outrigger canoes in the ocean. We went during the dry season and only had one wet hike. Excellent guide; knowledgeable, very organized, and a good sense of humor. Highly recommend this as a first-time trip to this country.

(5)

The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders is a program for active individuals who are lifelong learners. The field trips and experiences provided during the class far exceeded my expectations, and there was a little time each day for unstructured activities and relaxation. An unexpected plus was the knowledge and positive attitudes brought to the course by other participants. The instructor and supplemental lecturers were not only knowledgeable and organized, but they shared their love for the country and its vision for the future. Our experienced instructor took good care of us and brought an unexpected depth of knowledge, plus music, humor and deep affection for his country. What a wonderful interpreter and ambassador for Costa Rica! He has a real gift for helping students relate to the place and the information. I give him a great deal of credit for our delightful experience on this Road Scholar trip, an introduction to the spectacular natural and cultural areas of Costa Rica. I would certainly recommend this program to others who are physically active and share my interests in the plants, animals, economy, culture and natural treasures of this wonderful country.

(5)

If you are interested in learning this is a great overview of Costa Rica. The lectures and demonstrations were informative and usually with some humor thrown in. We saw plenty of birds and several unique animals. Great Adventure!

(5)

This trip should be your first experience of Costa Rica as it offered a broad view of the unique features of the country.

(5)

This trip made me want to do Road Scholar for travel for the rest of my life. Our guide, Jorge, was the greatest. He was always helpful and very knowledgeable. I loved the informative lectures, and we had a great group of fellow seniors. Loved it.

(5)

There is no better way to explore and learn about all of Costa Rica!

(5)

Would highly recommend traveling with Road Scholars especially to unfamiliar places. Felt completely safe throughout the entire trip. Appreciate how thoroughly Road Scholar prepared me for the trip. Would recommend any trip with Reimer as the tour guide!

(5)

Great tour! Gives a wonderful overview of different part of Costa Rica. I would do same tour again.

(5)

The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders allows you to do exactly that. Through hiking, rafting, traveling from one side of the country to the other, you get to explore and see and understand the different regions of this small but amazing country. Watching for macaws, toucans, howler monkeys, iguanas, and even snakes is fun and exciting - especially when they are spotted. This was one of the best Road Scholar trips I have taken.

(5)

This was our fifth Road Scholars adventure and it was absolutely fabulous. A real combination of learning, hiking, outdoor adventures, with still some relaxation time. We could not think of one thing to make it a better program!

(5)

Costa Rica is an amazing country with respect to its ecology, bio diversity, physical beauty, respect for the environment and the disposition of its people. Their favorite expression, “pure vida”, says it all. They respect their environment and take seriously their role in protecting it. The people are pleasant and positive. The rain forest is remarkable. The beautify headturning.

(5)

This was a great way to see and learn about Costa Rica. I want to go back!

(5)

Just returned from The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders. The trip was amazing. We had an excellent guide and our group was fun with everyone getting along nicely together. It was hard to leave it when the last day came. We were fortunate that the weather was dry and rain was not a concern for our activities. It was our first time in the country but it will not be our last.

(5)

Tour and guide were excellent. Good way to see the parks and their inhabitants.

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

This was a great trip! Pedro is so knowledgeable and delightful. We had intense rain, but his ability to encourage all of us never faltered. The accommodations were excellent with the exception of the lodging in Sarapaqui which was inconsistent. The food was wonderful everywhere - healthy, tasty and abundant. The lectures were all interesting, particularly the first lecture in San Jose - what a terrific speaker! My only criticism was the itinerary for the 2 days in Punta Leona - it seemed we were on the bus back & forth multiple times, the activities of which could have been scheduled quite differently to minimize bus time and maximize our time at Punta Leona.

(4)

This trip was truly excellent for those who like the structure involved in a group trip (or who know ahead of time to view the Road Scholar trip as a wonderful introduction to Costa Rica, and can also come back later and explore more freely on their own). Luis is an incredible guide in every possible way, as well as an engaging, warm person, and we were especially lucky to get him. His immense knowledge of wildlife and birds created many very special experiences we might have otherwise missed. For people who are naturally very independent/adventurous and also want to spend time meeting and mingling a lot with everyday Costa Ricans, I would tell them to perhaps wait to do Road Scholar until they are older and will by necessity prioritize security and having all details managed for you over having more freedom and flexibility. I ended up deciding to independently return to Costa Rica again at a later time to more freely explore and wander, and I view the experience of this trip as a really great introduction to Costa Rica.

(5)

Luiz Vargas is a gem.

(4)

This is a wonderful trip especially for first time visitors to Costa Rica. It explores the Nature of the country.

(5)

My understanding of Costa Rica, its people, its mountains and rivers, and its animals have come into focus for me. I have thoroughly enjoyed experiencing and learning about this thoughtful country. Costa Rica is trying hard to be more environmentally correct, and it is succeeding in many areas. Using a variety of events, hikes, lectures, and experiences, Road Scholar has opened up this country for discovery. Road Scholar made this easy and enjoyable.

(5)

This was my first Road Scholar experience and it was amazing. The programs were all very well presented, the accommodations were good, the field trips fun and educational and our tour leader was incredible. There were a number of people in the group that had use Road Scholar before and said this was pretty much the level of quality they experience. I can't recommended it enough.

(5)

This was our first trip with Roads Scholar but not our first group trip. We will book another trip with Road Scholar soon! The trip was fabulous. We loved our listening devices!

(5)

Terrific trip! Jorge, our guide was exceptional! His vast knowledge, organization, patience, and good spirit made our trip most memorable! We learned so much not only from our amazing guide, but also from the stimulating, inspiring speakers we had at each location. The white water rafting and outrigger canoe experiences were an active addition enjoyed by all. Bird watching walks, visits to various agricultural enterprises, demonstrations and abundant delicious food made this trip one to remember fondly for a long time! Highly recommend!

(5)

It is hard to find enough superlatives to describe my first experience with Road Scholar during "The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders. I learned a great deal about the importance of eco-tourism in Costa Rica, thoroughly enjoyed the itinerary and my fellow travelers. But above all, our guide Edwin Ramirez was exceptional. His knowledge of each area, the flora and fauna, and expertise in group organization and management were A+. I am a solo traveller and felt very comfortable in all the program settings.

(5)

this tour of Costa Rica combines a good mix of lecture learning about geography and biodiversity, walking and boat exploration of the area, touring coffee and chocolate facilities and adventure of hiking over hanging bridges, river rafting and sea outrigger canoeing. The group size was great so we could meet everyone. The Road Scholar guide was very knowledgeable of Costa Rica history, flora and fauna and geology. He was both very personable and professional. It was our favorite of the three Road Scholar trips we have so far taken.

(5)

Our trip to Costa Rica was above expectations. It reinforced my feelings about Road Scholar and what an amazing organization they are. I will continue to use Road Scholar as my travel guide.

(5)

The program had a good variety of activities. We saw many exotic birds and animals and learned about Costa Rica's biodiversity. I enjoyed the rainforest hikes, the scenic boat rides, the rafting experience, the beach excursion, and watching the sun set over the Pacific on our last night.

(5)

We enjoyed this tour very much. The flora and fauna, the geography, the people of Costa Rica were beyond our rather high expectations. Our guide and lecture presenters were superb.

(5)

This is a fantastic trip for anyone who loves the natural world and how humans fit into the circle of life.

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

Lenin, Duarte (spelling?), the trip leader was outstanding. His knowledge of the flora and fauna was spot on. His personal manner was always empathetic and thorough, with a scholarly approach. Not only could he quickly find with his scope and identify incredibly diverse animal calls and species, he knew a lot about how all these creatures and plants survive and interact. We suspect Lenin had some input with the choices of once-in-a-lifetime Road Scholar visits to schools, farms, protected natural areas, and cultural life of Costa Rica. His local knowledge and visible friendship with all these folks demonstrated a deep appreciation for his country's values and traditions. Pura vida... trip leaders like Lenin encourage us to keep coming back Wayne Hensche Grand Marais, MN

(5)

Just do it! The Best of Costa Rica: Exploring Natural Wonders exceeded all hopes and expectations. The adventures, learning experiences, accommodations (and our guide!!) were top notch. A good trip is one that changes the traveler. Check.

(5)

This was one of the most interesting and informative (i.e. howler monkeys make great alarm clocks and a coati mundi makes an interesting if uninvited breakfast companion)trips we've ever taken. Well worth doing.

(5)

I really recommend Lenin Duarte as a leader and guide.

(5)

This is an incredible program! If you want to learn about biodiversity, this is a great place to go - the ecosystem is diverse and rich with plants, birds, and animals. I saw birds I've only seen in books, and unusual animals such as coatis and crocodiles. If you are a nature lover, you will love this program!

(5)

Easy to use website, great overall program, interesting participants Nice small groups, well informed and organized guide. This was my first Roads Scholar trip and I plan to do another next year.

(5)

This program crisscrossed a wide swath of Costa Rica highlighting the beautiful birds, diverse habitats and interesting wildlife that thrive in the diverse environments of the country. Presentations gave us broad overview of the people and their efforts to preserve and sustain their environment and their communities. Meeting the local experts and entrepreneurs added to our understanding of their efforts and highlighted the natural wonders that we encountered. Having expert guides and plenty of time to observe, photograph and enjoy the beauty of the country made this program one of our favorite Road Scholar experiences.

(5)

Costa Rica is a trip which can provide a lot of first-time experiences. On my trip in mid-October, I saw a green turtle lay eggs on a beach in Tortuguerro under the light of a full moon. I saw crocodiles while taking a boat ride on a river. I swam in the Pacific Ocean, rode the waves, then go out to view a beautiful Macaw cracking nuts in a tree. At one of our lodgings, I got to soak in the hot springs filled with healing minerals. This trip is too good to miss.

(5)

At the top of my bucket list, the Exploring Natural Wonders program met all my expectations. As a person interested in biodiversity, I was able to see and learn about many plants and animals and how they relate to each other and to humans. I recommend this trip for solo travelers, as I was included in everything. The hikes were sometimes challenging, but I felt a sense of accomplishment when I completed them.

(5)

This was a comprehensive tour of Costa Rica, led and facilitated by our exceptional tour leader, Edwin Ramirez. The tour's high point was a trip to the beaches at Tortuguero to see green sea turtles lay their eggs, but that turned out to be one of many high points as we learned first-hand about the land, history, biodiversity, and ecology of the country, met its people, and enjoyed participating in its rising industry of eco-tourism. Birding, walking on trails through the rain forest, suspension bridges, beaches, an elementary school visit, eating local foods...a wonderful & varied taste of so much. Pura Vida!

(5)

What an awesome adventure! This trip was unbelieveable! Several times my roommate and I looked at each other and quipped, "pinch me; is this for real?" If you are reasonably fit and can walk and climb while you experience birds and wildlife in their natural habitat, this is the excursion for you! If you love learning about biodiversity and the impact of climate change on our environment, then join RoadScholar for this informative trip to one of the most interesting destinations in Central America. I enjoyed every minute and plan to travel to more locations on my "bucket list" with RoadScholar in the future.

(5)

A life-changing experience. A real look at the natural wonders and ecology of Costa Rica as well as its people and culture.

(5)

This program was exceptional in every respect. Our group of 18 was mixed 3 couples and the remainder single women traveling, some with friends some alone. Anyone interested should feel perfectly comfortable going as a single. Everyone mixed very well.

(5)

Road Scholar, Costa Rican Adventures, was everything and more than I hoped for. What a safe and organized way to explore rain forests, biodiversity, culture, food, and the best coffee ever. I had the privilege of watching a green turtle lay her eggs on a protected Caribbean beach to observing wild Quetzals. Thank you, Road Scholar.

(5)

This is a great program, well-organized and varied. But it is rigorous and intense and requires fairly good physical condition and a flexible attitude.

(5)

This was my first Road Scholar trip, but it won't be my last! It was a wonderful introduction to the beauty and biodiversity of Costa Rica. Our guide was fabulous, (as was our bus driver)! I am still in awe at how much we saw, how many different habitats we explored, and how many unique experiences we had! Our guide, Jorge Mario, was extremely knowledgable and good at communication, plus he had a gift for keeping us on schedule. We watched a sea turtle lay eggs, saw an amazing number of bird species, reptiles and mammals, enjoyed white water rafting, a crocodile safari, a hands on experience with chocolate making, and interesting learning experiences from a variety of experts. I can't recommend this trip highly enough! Already dreaming about another trip to Costa Rica!

(5)

The best program ever. Going coast to coast fantastic. Program director William was GREAT.

(4)

The Natural Wonders of Costa Rica program was excellent! The joy of learning so much about such a progressive and compassionate culture and majestic environment, coupled with spending 10 days immersed in the rainforests, was so incredible that I was ready to turn around and go back as soon as I got home!

(5)

This was every bit as advertised, and even better. It exceeded my expectations. Learning about Costa Rica and its history and geology, and seeing its biodiversity & beauty, was a wonderful experience. And the wildlife! This was my first Road Scholar vacation, hopefully the first of many.

(5)

This program exceeded my expectations in so many ways! The blend of active adventures, educational lectures, guided walks, agrotourism, wildlife sightings and personal time was perfect. Everything was well-organized by Road Scholar and our guide was exceptional. Great value and fabulous experience.

(5)

This Costa Rica trip was amazing! We saw a great deal of a beautiful country, enjoyed a wide variety of experiences in the rain forest, cloud forest and at the beach, and met interesting Costa Rican people who taught us about their country. The school visit and the rafting were highlights. I highly recommend this trip.

(5)

The Natural Wonders of Costa Rica trip was amazing - a true adventure, informative, local and one I could not have gotten on my own. Being part of a group added to my experience and I will certainly be taking more Road Scholar trips!






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Enroll With Confidence
Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.