loading spinner
The mighty glaciers and dramatic fjords of Alaska’s Inside Passage are incredible. Aboard an expedition ship, learn about this untamed land and its stunning diversity of wildlife.
Rating (5)
Program No. 11479RJ
Length
10 days
Starts at
7,299
Special Offer
Click on Dates & Prices below to see special offer details.
Flights start at
FREE
Alaska

Alaska's Inside Passage Up Close

The mighty glaciers and dramatic fjords of Alaska’s Inside Passage are incredible. Aboard an expedition ship, learn about this untamed land and its stunning diversity of wildlife.
Length
10 days
Starts at
7,299
Special Offer
Click on Dates & Prices below to see special offer details.
Flights start at
FREE
Program No. 11479 RJ
Prefer to enroll or inquire by phone? 800-454-5768
airfare
Need airfare?
Our airfare tool can help. Check it out
climate
Plan ahead.
What kind of weather can you expect? Take a look!
itinerary
Please Note:
The itinerary for this program is different on certain dates.
Select your type of room
Price will update based on selection
Prices displayed below are based on per person,doubleoccupancy.

DATES & PRICES

Ship Outside Ship Suite
Accommodation Details

A cabin with a window or porthole to view the outside.

Accommodation Details

A larger cabin, often with separate sleeping and living areas; the largest class of stateroom.

May 27 - Jun 5, 2022
Ship Outside 7,399
Ship Suite 9,799
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by Aug. 31, 2021 and receive free air from many cities.

Itinerary Note

This date sails from Juneau to Sitka.

Jun 3 - Jun 12, 2022
Ship Outside 7,899
Ship Suite 10,299
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by Aug. 31, 2021 and receive free air from many cities.

Itinerary Note

This date sails from Sitka to Juneau.

Jun 10 - Jun 19, 2022
Ship Outside 7,999
Ship Suite 10,399
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by Aug. 31, 2021 and receive free air from many cities.

Itinerary Note

This date sails from Juneau to Sitka.

Jul 15 - Jul 24, 2022
Ship Outside 8,999
Ship Suite 11,399
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by Aug. 31, 2021 and receive free air from many cities.

Itinerary Note

This date sails from Sitka to Juneau.

Jul 29 - Aug 7, 2022
Ship Outside 8,999
Ship Suite 11,399
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by Aug. 31, 2021 and receive free air from many cities.

Itinerary Note

This date sails from Sitka to Juneau.

Aug 12 - Aug 21, 2022
Ship Outside 8,999
Ship Suite 11,399
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by Aug. 31, 2021 and receive free air from many cities.

Itinerary Note

This date sails from Sitka to Juneau.

Aug 19 - Aug 28, 2022
Ship Outside 8,499
Ship Suite 10,899
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by Aug. 31, 2021 and receive free air from many cities.

Itinerary Note

This date sails from Juneau to Sitka.

Aug 26 - Sep 4, 2022
Ship Outside 7,999
Ship Suite 10,399
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by Aug. 31, 2021 and receive free air from many cities.

Itinerary Note

This date sails from Sitka to Juneau.

Sep 2 - Sep 11, 2022
Ship Outside 7,299
Ship Suite 9,699
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by Aug. 31, 2021 and receive free air from many cities.

Itinerary Note

This date sails from Juneau to Sitka.

DATES & PRICES

Ship Outside
Accommodation Details

A cabin with a window or porthole to view the outside.

May 27 - Jun 5, 2022
SOLD OUT
Ship Outside 9,899
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by Aug. 31, 2021 and receive free air from many cities.

Itinerary Note

This date sails from Juneau to Sitka.

Jun 3 - Jun 12, 2022
SOLD OUT
Ship Outside 10,399
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by Aug. 31, 2021 and receive free air from many cities.

Itinerary Note

This date sails from Sitka to Juneau.

Jun 10 - Jun 19, 2022
SOLD OUT
Ship Outside 10,499
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by Aug. 31, 2021 and receive free air from many cities.

Itinerary Note

This date sails from Juneau to Sitka.

Jul 15 - Jul 24, 2022
SOLD OUT
Ship Outside 11,499
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by Aug. 31, 2021 and receive free air from many cities.

Itinerary Note

This date sails from Sitka to Juneau.

Jul 29 - Aug 7, 2022
SOLD OUT
Ship Outside 11,499
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by Aug. 31, 2021 and receive free air from many cities.

Itinerary Note

This date sails from Sitka to Juneau.

Aug 12 - Aug 21, 2022
Ship Outside 11,499
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by Aug. 31, 2021 and receive free air from many cities.

Itinerary Note

This date sails from Sitka to Juneau.

Aug 19 - Aug 28, 2022
Ship Outside 10,999
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by Aug. 31, 2021 and receive free air from many cities.

Itinerary Note

This date sails from Juneau to Sitka.

Aug 26 - Sep 4, 2022
Ship Outside 10,499
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by Aug. 31, 2021 and receive free air from many cities.

Itinerary Note

This date sails from Sitka to Juneau.

Sep 2 - Sep 11, 2022
Ship Outside 9,799
Special Offer

OFFER EXTENDED: Enroll by Aug. 31, 2021 and receive free air from many cities.

Itinerary Note

This date sails from Juneau to Sitka.

10 days
9 nights
25 meals
9B 7L 9D
2
Explore Sitka, Free Time, Embark Ship, Daily Preview
Northern Southeast Alaska - Inside Passage
3
Kake, Frederick Sound
Northern Southeast Alaska - Inside Passage
4
Hobart Bay, Inside Passage Lecture
Northern Southeast Alaska - Inside Passage
5
Tracy Arm Fjord, Waterfalls, Wildlife Watch
Northern Southeast Alaska - Inside Passage
6
Exploration, Orca Point Lodge
Northern Southeast Alaska - Inside Passage
7
White Pass Railway, Skagway & Gold Rush, Free Time
Northern Southeast Alaska - Inside Passage
8
Glacier Bay National Park & Preserve
Northern Southeast Alaska - Inside Passage
View Full Itinerary

At a Glance

Famed for deep glacial fjords, spectacular mountains and lush temperate rainforest, Alaska’s Inside Passage and Glacier Bay National Park offer natural and scenic gifts rivaled only by the rich histories of the indigenous nations who have lived here for millennia. Experience magnificent sights and sounds as our experts create opportunities to view glaciers up close. Study Alaska's history at the newly renovated Alaska State Museum in Juneau, and explore secluded bays via sea kayak or watercraft, all in the company of experts who narrate your experience with in-depth analysis of this yet untamed land.
Activity Level
Easy Going
Optional walking up to one mile on trails; some uneven or wet terrain. Elevation of 3,000 feet on train. Ship decks are accessed by narrow ladder like stairs. Climbing in and out of kayaks and rafts.

Best of all, you’ll…

  • Traverse the waters of 30-mile-long Tracy Arm, a narrow fjord enclosed within soaring cliffs of granite and dotted with glittering icebergs.
  • Board the White Pass narrow-gauge railway for an evocative journey back through a frenzied time of uncertainty and adventure: the gold rush era.
  • Experience chances to see whales, puffins, otters, bears, mountain goats and sea lions—the wealth of wildlife is amazing!

General Notes

Order of ports will vary subject to Glacier Bay schedule approved by the National Park Service. This program has a maximum group size of 50 participants.
Visit the Road Scholar Bookshop
You can find many of the books we recommend at the Road Scholar store on bookshop.org, a website that supports local bookstores.
The Klondike Fever: The Life and Death of the Last Great Gold Rush
by Pierre Berton
The Sea Runners
by Ivan Doig
Coming Into The Country
by John McPhee
Roadside Geology of Alaska
by Cathy Connor
An Alaska Anthology: Interpreting the Past
by Edited by Stephen w. Haycox and Mary Childers Mangusso
Travels in Alaska
by John Muir
The Island Within
by Richard Nelson
Guide to the Birds of Alaska
by Robert Armstrong
This comprehensive guide provides the most current knowledge about the birds in Alaska.
Looking at Indian Art of the Northwest Coast
by Hilary Stewart
Alaska Trees and Shrubs
by Leslie Viereck and Elbert Little
Alaska's History: the People, Land and Events of the North Country
by Harry Ritter
This is a small, easily readable "digest" of Alaska's history. It is great for a quick overview and it is a good size for tucking into a suitcase or reading on a plane.
Guide to Marine Mammals of Alaska
by Kate Wynne
This book covers all 29 marine mammal species of Alaska. Each whale, porpoise, dolphin, seal, sea lion, walrus, sea otter, and polar bear is described and illustrated. Color photos and surface profile drawings show all Alaska marine mammals and compare similar species, and color range maps show distribution.
Nature of Southeast Alaska: A Guide to Plants, Animals, and Habitats
by Robert Armstrong
Alaska
by James Michener
Tlingit Tales: Potlatch and Totem Pole
by Lorie K. Harris
Legends of the Tlingit people.
20 Reviews
Sort by
Most Recent
  • Most Recent
  • Most Favorable
  • Least Favorable
5 Average
(5)

A real bucket-list trip. Small ship is the way to go, and the ship staff, as well as our trip leaders made sure we had a perfect trip. In addition to whales, seals, sea lions, bears, eagles, orcas, northern lights, and glaciers, we also enjoyed kayaking and shore trips. We learned about and interacted with local native culture, people, music, and crafts. The food was amazing! Truly one of the best trips I've ever done. I felt sorry for the passengers of the big cruise ships we saw towards the end of the trip. They couldn't go the places and see the things that we could.

(5)

In addition to the educational content, the program's small ship provided daily opportunities to get to know our interesting companions on the ship

(5)

I encourage everyone who loves watching wildlife to consider the "Inside Passage Up Close" in Southeastern Alaska. Bears, bald eagles, whales, sea lions, salmons and more. What more can you ask for? Very well thought out list of great activities. Plus, being on a small boat (42 passengers all from RS) is much more rewarding for me than riding on a big monster cruise ship.

(5)

TRIP WELL DIRECTED SAW GORGEOUS SIGHTS AND WONDERFUL NATIVE SPEAKERS. DANCERS ARE NOT JUST A TOURIST SHOW: THESE PEOPLE LIVE THEIR CULTURE DAILY AND PASS IT ON TO (ADORABLE) SMALL CHILDREN! YOU CANT HELP ENJOYING THIS TRIP AND THE EAGLE RESCUE CENTER ON LAST DAY WAS EXCEEDED ONLY BY THE PERFORMING WHALES EVERYDAY! DEBBIE BERGER NYC

(5)

Trip of a life time.Enjoyed it from the first day to the last day.

(5)

Phenomenal program! Something new and interesting to do or see every day. The trip of a lifetime for me!

(5)

I would recommend a small boat cruise conducted by Road Scholar and may use Road Schalar again for another adventure...

This reviewer did not give a star rating.

The trip was great. We had good weather (in the 50's) the whole trip and it only rained on the last day we were there (when we were leaving). Larry West was a fantastic guide. He had alot of information about every aspect of the trip including the plants, animals, and all of the glaciers we visited. The crew on the ship was very friendly and helpful. Even got to do a bonfire during the trip. The boat offered great views of the glaciers we visited, and various wildlife on the shorelines.

(5)

If you want to get up close to glaciers, wildlife and nature, choose Road Scholar !

(5)

The Inside Passage has been on our bucket list for years. This trip was great value for the money and exceeded our expectations. Educational and entertaining, our guides were also encouraging, enthusiastic and knowledgeable. There was a real camaraderie with crew and travelers.

(5)

This was an amazing adventure; however, it is not a level one.

(5)

The Alaska Inside Passage voyage was truly remarkable in many ways. I learned southeast Alaska is a rainforest and saw the most stunningly beautiful scenery both on the boat and walking through the trails on land. This is a trip everyone should consider in their lifetime!

(5)

This trip was a fantastic experience in every way, I highly recommend it!

(5)

This trip is amazing from start to finish. The boat is comfortable and the staff were so helpful and friendly. The excursions were so wonderful. Each was educational and entertaining.The beauty of Alaska takes on new meaning as we learned about the land, sea, and its people. Alaska is calling, I. will return!

(5)

Trip of a lifetime! I was glad I stayed an extra few days in Juneau so I could take helicopter rides to a dogsled camp and to see the top of the glaciers.

(5)

Amazing trip to the Inside Passage. My first time with Road Scholar but it won't be my last. Wonderful wildlife viewing, good food, grea company, briliant guides what more could you ask?

(5)

Knockout scenery, great guides and instructors, cocktails with glacier ice, and amazing glaciers, whales, sea lions, and bald eagles to boot. It's the perfect way to see southeast Alaska's inner passage.

(5)

What a great trip – a first experience in Alaska! The Baronoff Dream is indeed a dream, the weather was wonderful our leaders were terrific, and the sights are amazing! If you haven’t been to Alaska consider this trip. The southeast portion of Alaska with all the glaciers, the native culture and the gorgeous scenery is fascinating, rejuvenating and unforgettable!

(5)

The Alaska Close Up was my first Road Scholar experience. I now plan to have many, many more. The small boat experience meant close up to glaciers, waterfalls, wildlife, and on-shore excursions. It also meant only 44 participants with the ability to know everyone, but also enough variety to fit different personalities. The leaders and naturalists and crew were exceptional and the food gourmet.

(5)

This was a great trip through the northern part of the Inside Passage. Our ship, the Baranof Dream, was wonderful! It is a comfortable vessel that is small enough to go into some narrow bays that the large ships cannot access. We had a naturalist and true Alaska guide on board with us for the entire journey. The food was excellent—far surpassing our expectations! The emphasis is on the local native culture and the incredible wildlife. While we were underway, the ship would just stop anytime humpback whales, orcas, bears, mountain goats, etc., were spotted, and we'd just sit in the water for long periods of time to observe these fantastic creatures. And, yes, we saw all of the above, plus seals, seal pups, eagles, porpoises, tufted puffins, and thousands of other seabirds. We spent hours in Glacier Bay and Tracy Arm getting close to glaciers, icebergs, and waterfalls while on the ship and in inflatable craft, and we walked through temperate rainforests, thick with beautiful trees and other vegetation, including many varieties of mosses and lichen. The crew on the boat was fantastic and our Road Scholar guide was excellent. It is a fantastic experience and the thrill of seeing the beautiful landscapes, small towns that the big cruise ships don't stop at, and the wildlife cannot be adequately described.






Your Well-Being is Our #1 Priority

We’re committed to making your experience as safe and enjoyable as possible.

See Our Safety Roadmap
Enroll With Confidence
Important registration tip:
If you want to attend the live lecture, please do not wait until the last minute to enroll.
If you enroll after a lecture is complete, we’ll send you a recording of the event.