signup top
and receive your
FREE E-Newsletter &
E-Photo book:


Top 10 Learning Experiences
Around the World





GO
signup bottom


Los Angeles, California

Rose Parade®: A Heritage to Celebrate



Number: 10515Duration: 5 nightsActivity Level: Moderate


Reviews



Submitted by: Laurel from Davis, CA
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

I was one of those crazy people who slept on the street on New Year's Eve in my college years and loved watching the floats go by, bleary-eyed from our long night in the cold. Now, 35 years later, I am not about to sleep on the steet again, but the opportunity to work on the floats and be a part of the huge team effort was every bit as memorable. A huge cheer from our team as "our" float went by!


Submitted by: Peg from Fort Myers, FL
Number of programs attended: 2
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

This tour gave us the chance to experience the Rose Parade in a very unique way. All participants were able to spend a day working on a float. We were able to help with the flowers and to add other touches to items that were going on the float. We spent a full day at the float sight and our help was appreciated. Our float won the Founders award - so special.


Submitted by: Owen from San Antonio, TX
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

A great program encompassing every aspect of the Tournament of Roses Parade.


Submitted by: Sandra from Colorado Springs, CO
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

The Rose Parade program is so well planned & executed, providing an all encompassing experience that turns a one dimensional event(attending the Rose Parade) into a three dimensional experience!


Submitted by: Robert from Colorado Springs, CO
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

My first Road Scholar program. Very impressed, highly recommend this program. Had a great time.


Submitted by: Dianne from Allendale, MI
Number of programs attended: 9
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

It was a wonderful program and I have a new "marketable" skill - gluing beads on a float!


Submitted by: Barbara from Poughkeepsie, NY
Number of programs attended: 3
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

I compared three Rose Parade packages. Road Scholar had educational talks and the experiences I wanted: decorating a float, viewing the parade and viewing the floats after the parade. This program is an excellent value for the cost.


Submitted by: Nancy from Downers Grove, IL
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

I attended this program so that I could not only view the parade, but participate in decorating a float. This was a complete Rose Parade experience with the excellent speakers, attending the Bandfest, and viewing the floats to see the incredible detail. Even though the hotel as a little distance, the staff was wonderful. Meals were very good considering it is a banquet type service for a large number of people. The Getty Museum was well worth seeing. I would recommend this program for anyone interested in a full Rose Parade experience.


Submitted by: Ann from New Bern, NC
Number of programs attended: 2
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

This program lived up to my expectations. If you have ever longed to work on one of the Rose Parade floats, this provides a wonderful opportunity, which then enhances your enjoyment of the parade and post-parade viewing.


Submitted by: Kristine from Excelsior, MN
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

My lifelong friends live across the country. We gathered together in California to experience a lifetime dream of seeing the Rose Parade. Together we cheered bands at bandfest, toured the Getty Center, worked on the floats, sat together watching the splendid Rose Parade, and marveled at the many materials used on the floats. We had a wonderful time and made new friends along the way. Thank you Road Scholar!


Submitted by: Mary from Bloomfield, NM
Number of programs attended: 10
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

Great program for anyone, especially singles, to experience the Rose Parade. Price is very fair and experiences unparalleled for the time and money spent.


Submitted by: Gary from Los Altos, CA
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

Having the chance to work on the floats before the parade and see them up close after the parade made the program so much better than just seeing the parade itself would have been.


Submitted by: Eugenia from Los Altos, CA
Number of programs attended: 2
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

This program is the perfect way to learn everything about the Rose Parade - the history, the organization, the participating floats, and the very best way to see parade and post parade without the trouble of trying to obtain lodging and admittance tickets, and dealing with traffic and parking on parade day. A rewarding experience!


Submitted by: Cheryl from Pennsburg, PA
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

We crossed something else off our bucket list. The Rose Parade was amazing. Watching the float that you help work on was beyond an experience. Meeting all these wonderful people was priceless.


Submitted by: Carolyn from Park City, UT
Number of programs attended: 0
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

The Rose Parade program was absolutely wonderful. I have a greater appreciation for all that goes into both the floats and the bands. Loved it!! Would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to see the Rose Parade in the future.


Submitted by: Barbara from Saint Paul, MN
Number of programs attended: 18
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

If you have watched and loved the Rose parade on TV and want to escape a Midwest winter, this is the program for you. Seeing the bands at their half time shows was the real bonus surprise for me, as they go by too fast at the Parade. If your grandchild is selected to play in a visiting band next year, sign up for this trip. The program is well organized to get the maximum out of your time, but the 6:15 AM departure times is hard for some. Early to bed is the rule!! Great staff, speakers and meals. LOVED IT!!!! Barb from St. Paul


Submitted by: Selma from Castro Valley, CA
Number of programs attended: 0
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

This was my first Road Scholar program and I am so glad I went. It was more than I had hoped. I learned so much about the Rose Parade organization and their dedicated volunteers. I had seen the parade as a kid and wanted to revisit it. This experience more than met my expectations. Jill and Larry were great leaders who kept us on schedule in a fun well informed way. The lodging, food and speakers were great as was the fun of decorating a float.


Submitted by: Pamela from Hobe Sound, FL
Number of programs attended: 0
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

I checked this one off my bucket list. The program was outstanding. From helping decorate a float to band fest and watching the parade in person, it was a life time experience. Jill and Larry Fine were very informative and friendly leaders. This was my first Road Scholar trip and I'm sure it will not be my last.


Submitted by: Karen from Eagan, MN
Number of programs attended: 0
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

Just got back from a once in a lifetime experience at the Tournament of Roses Parade in Pasadena CA. From spending a day float prepping and decorating to a day at the Getty Center with lots of events in between this program did not disappoint. The Parade itself was made that much better by having had lecturer's share some of the inside knowledge they have with us. Highly recommend this program. I traveled alone but by the end of the trip have many new travel buddies.


Submitted by: Thomas from Saint Paul, MN
Number of programs attended: 14
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

The Rose Parade Program was exceptional. It was a dream of ours to watch the Rose Parade and this program offered SO MUCH MORE!! Getting to help decorate a float, learning how floats are judged, learning the process for acceptance for floats, bands and equestrian participants as well as the history and organization of the Rose Parade made the actual viewing of the parade so much more meaningful. The opportunity to see the floats post-parade was an opportunity to appreciate the detail and artistry that goes into creating a float. The staff and group leaders are extremely well organized and for such a large group there were multiple opportunities to personally connect with other participants. The staff at the hotel are some of the best we have ever encountered. Watching them work together to serve multiple meals a day was a pleasure. Highly recommend this program!


Submitted by: Linda from Livermore, CA
Number of programs attended: 8
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

This program gives one such a complete experience of the Rose Parade. It is well organized with a variety of experiences that are great fun! I can hardily recommend it to anyone. I came away with a deeper appreciation of what the parade is all about.


Submitted by: Jane from Garland, TX
Number of programs attended: 2
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

Wow! What an experience. 55 years of watching every New Year's Day on TV, and I never thought I would have the opportunity to see the parade, let alone work on a float. This trip was the complete experience; and hassle-free, thanks to the organization and local knowledge of the Road Scholar staff. Large number of attendees, but broken down into manageable groups. John, our blue group leader, was fantastic. If you enjoy the Rose Parade on TV, do yourself a favor and make this trip!


Submitted by: Janet from Davis, CA
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

Activities leading up to the Parade were well planned and organized, the Tournament of Roses Parade was excellent (great seats!) and then the after Parade viewing of the floats was excellent! There are an amazing number of people to organize and "herd" but the Road Scholar leadership tram did a superb job.


Submitted by: Thayne from Baton Rouge, LA
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

If you watched the Rose Parade on TV as a child, this is the program for you. You see up close how the flowers are done, how the floats are made, and also have interesting speakers who tell you how the floats are judged, what it is like to be a "white suiter" and what it is like to be queen. You get to see the bands perform on the field in addition to the parade. AND after the parade there is a post parade party, so you can see the intricate designs and materials on all the floats. Great experience for bucket list.


Submitted by: Rosemary from Kalamazoo, MI
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 12/28/14 - 01/02/15

We had a wonderful time with Road Scholar at the Rose Parade. I can mark it off my Bucket List


Submitted by: Allison from Cocoa, FL
Number of programs attended: 2
Date attended: 12/28/13 - 01/02/14

Experience of a lifetime! I've seen the Rose Bowl Parade on TV since I was a kid. Being part of the Road Scholar program I was not only up close and personal with the floats and parade I feel like I made a valuable contribution helping a community make it's dream come alive!


Submitted by: Karen from Wheaton, IL
Number of programs attended: 5
Date attended: 12/28/13 - 01/02/14

So many friends said this was a life long dream. I got to do it, not just dream. A wonderful experience.


Submitted by: Claudia from Olmsted Twp, OH
Number of programs attended: 1
Date attended: 12/28/13 - 01/02/14

The Rose Parade program was more than I expected. Everything was very well organized and I learned a lot about behind the scene, picking a Rose Queen and met many very nice and interesting people. I liked that we could sit with different people, not just our group, as that gave us an opportunity to meet and learn about our fellow travelers and some have taken many trips with Road Scholar and had tips to give us new people. Thank you for a great experience.


Submitted by: Robert from Memramcook, NB
Number of programs attended: 4
Date attended: 12/28/13 - 01/02/14

It was a week full of adventure. The parade was above expectation,and the museums: the Getty,Northern-Simon,Hunthington,and Reagan were there for us to enjoy and remember.Peg, Carlos and all the group leaders and chauffeurs were excellent,so were the lecturers.Coming in from Canada motivated us to enjoy all we could, Have a good day, see you soon in another program,Cecile and Robert.


Submitted by: Jean from Orleans, MA
Number of programs attended: 4
Date attended: 12/28/13 - 01/02/14

this was an excellent program; led professionally and personably by Jeff and Jill. Road Scholar is the ultimate professioanal organization to participate in the Rose Bowl Parade celebrations. Jean


Submitted by: Jacqueline from Greenville, SC
Number of programs attended: 0
Date attended: 12/28/13 - 01/02/14

Traveling alone was not a problem. There were other unattached travelers to become acquainted with. I was very satisfied with the program and all that went with it. Being at the Rose Bowl Parade was a fabulous experience for me. I also very much enjoyed spending some time at the J. Paul Getty Museum, a place to return to!


Submitted by: James from Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Number of programs attended: 11
Date attended: 12/28/13 - 01/02/14

The Rose Parade program is the perfect combination of work, fun, education, new experiences, and being in a warm climate during the winter


Submitted by: Sally from East Rochester, OH
Number of programs attended: 0
Date attended: 12/28/13 - 01/02/14

What a great program...Even getting up that early to have breakfast and leave on the motorcoach for Pasadena, I would do it again!!!!!!!! Just a marvelous experience. The activities were just the right amount...Trust me, I will not be buying any oasis glue. being a part of such a monumental experience has been wonderful!. Thank you!


Submitted by: Toni from Albuquerque, NM
Number of programs attended: 5
Date attended: 12/28/13 - 01/02/14

This was a wonderful program; well-organized, well-timed and thorough. On my own I would never have been able to navigate the southern California traffic and highways, much less participate in all the activities that were available. It was a childhood dream of mine to go to the Rose Parade, and now, 52 years later I not only saw the parade from well-positioned bleachers, but had opportunity for many related learning experiences. The speakers prepared us well for the events, the hotel staff fed us well both early and late, the group leaders and bus drivers got us where we needed to be. I met many interesting people, (we ranged in age from mid-40's to 92) and it was a great way to end one year and begin a new one.


Submitted by: Sandra from Sussex, NJ
Number of programs attended: 4
Date attended: 12/28/13 - 01/02/14

The rose parade was on my bucket list, but I did not expect the value I received from Road Scholars. The program went well beyond my expectations. What a thrill. I will never forget this trip


Submitted by: Sherry from Hayward, CA
Number of programs attended: 0
Date attended: 12/28/13 - 01/02/14

Worth Doing! An educational, fun, different adventure. I was able to fulfill a long-held desire and share the experience with friends. The accommodations were very nice, staff friendly and efficient, leaders exceptional, and the diversity of activities during the week made for a well rounded experience. Haven't stopped talking about it!


Submitted by: Willie from Fresno, CA
Number of programs attended: 27
Date attended: 12/28/13 - 01/02/14

I had attended the Rose Parade before with one overnight and the bus parking near the parade. This RS was experiencing the parade. Decoarating the floats made me feel a part of the parade and I didn't want to miss any scheduled events. The lectures by the volunteer, previous queen and float judge were outstanding and helped me understand the details of the parade. The many volunteers and what it takes to move the floats to Colorado street is amazing. Viewing the floats the day after was wonderful as we got to see the detail in the floats that one is not able to focus on as they drive by during the parade. Our guide, Hildy, was great - knew all the details to keep things going smooth and a slouth in finding our disappearing treats. The Hilton food and servers were over the top. I had invited a gal to be my roommate and she was also impressed. Said she like to travel with RS again. Roadscholar you are the BEST! I've traveled with other organizations and you beat them all.


Submitted by: Marilyn from Nevis, MN
Number of programs attended: 0
Date attended: 12/28/13 - 01/02/14

Marilyn from Nevis, Mn Had a wonderful. Very well organized. Great Experience and fun to be where the action was.


Submitted by: Suzanne from Mount Pleasant, MI
Number of programs attended: 9
Date attended: 12/28/13 - 01/02/14

We just returned from the Road Scholar Rose Parade program. We had a "once in a lifetime" experience. We were able to get behind the scenes and actually work on a float which made our Rose Parade experience even more meaningful.


Submitted by: Constance from Lady Lake, FL
Number of programs attended: 0
Date attended: 12/28/13 - 01/02/14

My virginal voyage as a Road Scholar was tons of fun-fun-fun from start to finish. EVERYONE was informative, patient, efficient and extremely pleasant. I packed all the appropriate goodies as per the info contained in the packet I rec'd prior to my trip. I loved our pretty in PINK group leader, Lynn. Peter, our bus driver, was a miracle worker...we were always at the right place at the right time without incident. The hotel was lovely with an exceptional staff at every position. The hands on float decorating experience was truly remarkable...beyond my expectations. The parade was magnificent. How Road Scholar arranged for the Cal-Poly float to break down right in front of us so we could enjoy the irony of all that, is quite beyond me. My roommate was selected by Road Scholar and she was a delightful human being and a joy to share this experience with. I observed nary a "hiccup" throughout by entire adventure....kudos to Road Scholar and hip-hip-hooray!!


Submitted by: Amy from Ashland, OR
Number of programs attended: 4
Date attended: 12/28/13 - 01/02/14

Great experience for the money. Very comprehensive. Well-organized. Fun. Not too long. Not too short. You'll feel you've had the Rose Parade experiences.







I WANT TO LEARN ABOUT ...

in

or

from:
 
 
Add price, activity level and more.
Tell a friend about Road Scholar and this month you could win a $1,000 gift certificate!
Congratulations to our latest winner, Dr. William and Ann W.